PNW Rando Clothing…

1 03 2011

Spring PNW rando clothing...

With brevet season around the corner it was time to dig through my cycling clothing to figure out what to wear on the SIR 100K and by extension the rest of the spring.  Typically I don’t wear bike specific clothing when riding. It’s just not necessary nor very practical for most of what I do.  However, when the task at hand is to ride for hours on end at an efficient pace through whatever weather presents itself cycling specific clothing once again makes sense to me.

The good news is I have a decent stash of the stuff and since I don’t wear it it’s all in good shape.  So I sorted through my gear to come up with something light, compact, all weather and would not make me look like a total fool.

Looks like cool temps for sure and 50/50 on the liquid sunshine...

My rando clothing list from top to bottom:

  • Bern helmet [warm and has visor for rain]
  • Nike running ear warmer head band
  • Buff cycling neck warmer with reflective stripe
  • MEC heavy weight wool jersey [if it looks colder]
  • MEC lightweight wool zip LS neck with synthetic SS rando jersey on top [if it’s on the less cold side]
  • REI Vertia rain jacket [packed unless it’s raining or uber cold]
  • MEC rain over-gloves [packed unless it’s raining or uber cold]
  • mid-weight fleece gloves
  • Ibex wool tights
  • Rain Legs [packed unless it’s raining or uber cold]
  • mid-weight wool socks
  • Specialized SPD MTB shoes [arrrgghh clipping in again!]
  • MEC waterproof shoe covers [packed unless it’s raining or uber cold]

Warmer weather gear and night safety gear...

Other gear for later in season on warmer rides and night rides:

  • reflective sash
  • reflective ankle bands
  • unpadded bike shorts
  • wool arm & leg warmers

Since my longest ride planned this year is a 400K I expect this same load of clothing should get me through the rest of the spring rando season.  I’ll have to recalibrate in June when it gets warmer and drier on Vancouver Island.