Petzel e+LITE…

13 03 2011

Petzel e-LITE glamour shot...

The night ride I posted about yesterday made me aware I was in need of a small LED light I could clip to my Bern helmet’s visor to use for viewing the cue sheet/map as well as for any on bike repairs/looking for stuff in my bar bag. Mike B on the Randon Group pointed me to this Petzel e-LITE mini light….which at the moment is the best option to meet my needs.

What I like:

  • small & light
  • red LED which won’t affect my night vision
  • bright enough white LEDs to use as a back up be seen light and shine at road signs
  • long enough battery life to be useful [probably will get used less than 5mins/hour of the ride
  • clips to visor
  • waterproof/able to operate at cold temps
  • I’ve had good luck with other Petzel products

I won't be using the headband for brevets, but it's good as a back up light in my truck or on tour...

What I don’t like:

  • expensive non-rechargeable funky batteries that will end up in a landfill
  • not enough light to be a backup light for the bike’s headlamp
  • not sure how secure the visor clip is
  • not sure how easy it is to operate with gloves on

If anyone owns one of these I’d love to know what you think of it. I won’t be buying anything for a couple weeks so I am open to other options.

E+LITE will be attached to this helmet's visor...