Was SUP?…[PS – I hate my camera!]

3 07 2010

Getting my SUP on at Lake Nihtnat BC...

I had a great SUP session this AM at Lake Nihtnat BC.  Got out on the water at 630am with my buddy Kurt.

Kurt heads up river into some rapids...

It was only his second SUP attempt and his first outside a pool.  He did great and caught the SUP stoke…nice…it’s always great to have someone to paddle with and it’s an awesome workout for your core.

Ya it's a killer core workout!

One bummer is my POS Olympus Stylus waterproof digi camera took 90% bunk pictures.  It’s been back to Olympus twice for repair and I think I’m done with it.  Next time I am near an e-waste recycling depot it’s history.  Not sure what to replace it with…the Canon waterproof takes awesome photos and I love my other Canons, but it’s a bulky unit that won’t fit into a pocket easily.  Not sure I want to spend more money on Olympus cameras as I’m kind of pissed off at the moment.  I may give the current generation Pentax waterproof a go.  The one I have never took stunning photos, but it was decent and it never broke down…in fact Kurt has it and it’s still going strong.  My only reservation is it takes a proprietary mini USB cable and I hate to reward companies that use proprietary cables.  I may go check out the Canon and see if I can live with the size…I’m sure the photos will be worth a bit of hassle as long as it’s not ridiculously big.

Kurt on the Big Banana...lol...I prefer an understated blue camo look...

Oh well the fun SUPing took away my bad vibes…I’ll be able to SUP daily at my new place 4 blocks from the water.  In fact I can SUP downtown for dinner and SUP to MEC when I need to grab some outdoors gear.  You gotta love cities with protected harbours and public docks…=-)  I’m going to rig my Surly Big Dummy so I can haul my SUP to the water by bike.

Just wish it wish Hawaii hot!


Actions

Information

3 responses

4 07 2010
Doug D

The panasonic is worth looking at – it takes pretty decent pictures and is built tough.
My son’s Olympus (same as yours) flooded in the spring and needed to go in for repairs. They charged me for it and claimed that it had been taken too deep.

13 07 2010
Tim B

Yeah! FiveFingers. 🙂
Justin over at http://birthdayshoes.com/ may be interested in some of your action shots.

7 09 2010
Camera Update « The Lazy Randonneur

[…] – I’ve never tried a Sony camera I liked…mediocre photos every time….=-(  My Olympus Stylus 850SW no longer focuses reliably and after 2 trips back to Olympus for repair I ha……=-(  So I was left with my Pentax Optio W20…which to its credit has never failed me, […]

Leave a comment