Why I haven’t gone tubeless on my Pugs?

22 01 2013
Totally fat - totally tubed...

Totally fat – totally tubed…

I’ve posted on this blog about trying to setup my Pugsley tubeless. I’ve even gone so far as to get the inner tubes I’d need for the split tube method that seems to offer the best results. Having said that my Pugs still sports inner tubes.

If you are wondering why the main reasons are:

  1. laziness
  2. inconsistent use
  3. lack of flats

Setting the Pugs up tubeless isn’t a huge deal. It will probably take me 4 beers to get done, but not doing anything takes a bunch less time and costs nothing so that option has been very appealing. 😉

My Pugsley gets used a lot for a period of time – such as daily rides in Baja for 7 weeks – then it sits gathering dust for a couple months in the garage without a second look until I need it again. My admittedly limited experience with tubeless [2 MTBs] tells me it works best on bikes that see regular riding. The idea of having to reseat the tires and mess with sealant every couple months isn’t motivating me to make the change.

The final factor is the fact I just don’t get any Pugsley flats. I was riding every day in Baja for 7 weeks and didn’t get a single flat with my tubes. This is in thorn country where other bikers are dealing with multiple flats a day. I don’t have many bike related super powers, but this is one of them. If I had 10 flats on my Baja trip you’d see me do the tubeless thing the first day I got home to Victoria!

So the only two reasons I have to do the switch to tubeless are losing some weight and better rolling resistance from my tires. Those aren’t inconsiderable motivations. One of these days I’ll get it done – just not today!

My Pugs with Nates...

My Pugs with Nates…

If you are terribly disappointed by my lack of tubeless fat content you can check out a tubeless Moonlander over at the Gypsy by Trade Blog. That should keep you going! 😉


Actions

Information

4 responses

22 01 2013
gypsybytrade

Vik,

You hold strong to the Lazy theme, yet again. Baja on a fatbike sounds like fun. If I wasn’t committed to working all winter, I would be over the border in just a few days. Incidentally, my friend Alex is touring Baja on a Big Dummy right now. He rolled out of La Paz this morning headed for Los Planos, then south to Los Barriles, Cabo Pulmo, and the Sierra de la Laguna. Coincidentally, Lael and I ran into you in La Ventana in Jan 2010 when we were riding through. At the time, I was attracted to the Pugsley and the red framebag.

When you do overcome laziness, I think you will find the tubeless conversion to be relatively simple. With more experience, I’ve come to find that Rolling Darryls are the easiest to do, as they have the shallowest rim bed.

nicholas

22 01 2013
thelazyrando

Hola Nick – I recall our meeting in Baja a few years ago. The Pugs is still going strong with a new paint job.

I passed your friend Alex while driving in Baja. I couldn’t help notice the Big Dummy! 😉

If I used my Pugs more regularly I’d probably get on with the tubeless conversion, but as it stands it gets used intensely for a month or two and then sits a lot the rest of the year.

I hope all is well with you and Lael… 🙂

26 02 2013
Tee

Just found and love your blog. I recently bought a Pugsley and would like to replace the bars. Yours look like something I’d like to look at. What kind are they and how do you like them.
Thank you.

26 02 2013
thelazyrando

@Tee – Those are Jones loop H-bars. I love them for touring and beach riding. I haven’t made peace with them for MTBing yet.

http://www.jonesbikes.com/h-bar.html

Leave a comment