Blade Trigger Kite Review – Part 2

14 10 2012

Blade Trigger waiting for me to rock another session at Nitnaht Lake…

Read Part 1 of my Blade Trigger Review here.

I finally gave back the 2012 Blade Trigger 12m I was testing out since spring so I thought it was a good time to summarize my thoughts about it.

What I liked about the Trigger?

  • stable/easy to fly
  • fast turning [for a 12m]
  • lightweight/simple 3 strut design [floats back in window well]
  • well designed safety system with 100% depower
  • good depower range
  • easy water relaunch
  • looks nice
  • affordable price

What I didn’t like?

  • could use more bar throw with shorts harness [connection point is much lower]
  • prefer below bar depower adjustment
  • medium bar pressure – I’d love lower bar pressure because I have tendonitis

Kiteboarder Magazine called the Trigger a great skill building kite. I would agree. It combines the ease of use of a beginner kite with the performance potential of a more advanced kite. You can learn to kiteboard on a Trigger and once you are a solid rider you won’t be bored with it. That’s key because kites are expensive and you want to get the most out of your investment from your first ride right through your progression to becoming an experienced kiteboarder.

Blade USA Trigger kite sale…

Blade USA has a sale on right now. Buy 1 Trigger complete and get a second at 50% off. That’s a nice way to build a core quiver without breaking the bank.🙂

The bottom line question is “Would I ride Triggers as the core of my quiver?” and my answer is yes. They are a fun dependable kite that would be a good match for my skills and I could afford to buy them – all important points!😉 I’ve tried quite a few kites this season and nothing performed better than the Trigger as an all around kite. I’m keen to see what the changes are for 2013. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to try some of the new Triggers out in a smaller size. I’m going to have to replace my main kites in 2013 so I need to get serious about kite testing this season.

BTW – many thanks to Kite Paddle Surf Bellingham for the long term loan of a Trigger. You can’t form a solid impression of a kite in a single short session so I appreciate the opportunity to ride the Trigger all summer and really see how it worked for me.



Leave a Reply

