Last Nitnaht Run…=-(

22 08 2011

Packing my trusty Mazda B4000 for the last time...

My Mazda pick up turned over 300,000kms this year and it has been my trusty companion on many adventures as well as being my work truck for many years. This past weekend was our last outing together – a run up to Lake Nitnaht for some kiteboard camping action. My insurance runs out on this truck in a few days and I’ve decided not to spend the $$$ renewing it as I would then need to put some maintenance $$$ into her. It’s time to say goodbye. We’ve had nearly 15 great years together and our run had to end sometime – might as well be now on a high note. On the bright side I’m giving the truck to my friend Kurt who is more mechanically inclined than I am. He can do a lot of his own maintenance so he’ll keep her going much more affordably than I could using professional mechanics. That also means I’m likely to get more rides in this Mazda over the next few years. She won’t be mine which will be different, but at least we’ll get to hang out…=-)

Sharon getting ready to ride...

I’m off to Ontario to work for a month starting this coming weekend so this was my last opportunity to kiteboard at Lake Nitnaht this summer. Happily the weather was warm and sunny – much warmer than usual for Nitnaht – which was a treat. Although not as windy as last year’s kick ass season we did get wind both days so I can’t complain at all.

Sharon did awesome. She has figured out how to stay upwind which is the last thing you need to learn before being an independent kiteboarder.

It’s great to see all her hard work pay off…=-)

Sharon's new kite...

She rewarded herself with her first kite a 9m Liquid Force Envy from Kite Paddle Surf Bellingham. Until now she’s been using my old, somewhat beat up, Naish kites that I learnt on. Great to start with, but 3yrs behind the power curve of kite performance.

Thanks for another fun season of kiting Lake Nitnaht!

I flew the 17m Blade Fat Lady both days. The wind was a bit strong for such a big kite, but I wanted to see how it handled the upper end of its range and there were lots of lulls that would have made my next smaller kite [a 10m OR Rise] struggle so I was glad to have some extra fabric in the sky. She did very well and I was able to depower her effectively while still getting reasonably fast turns cranked out as well as some fun jumps.

Sharon flying pink...

All in all a fine end to the summer…=-)




Leave a Reply

