No Go on SIR 100K..=-(

4 03 2011

No rando for this rig...=-(

I got to the ferry terminal at 4pm today. Made it through US Customs no problem. As it was closing in on 7pm we still hadn’t left dock. High winds and big waves don’t work so well for a small high speed ferry. The crew was getting weird [like they knew something they weren’t allowed to tell us] so I decided I should ask to leave the boat. I figured I just missed my chance when one senior member came in and said customs didn’t want anyone to leave the boat since we were already technically in the US. *sigh* I’m not a fighter and I knew it wasn’t the crew’s fault so I was prepared to return to my seat and wait. Luckily the same guy saw me come in with my bike and told me quietly that if I grabbed my bag and helmet he’d get me off, but I had to do it without letting people know what was happening since he couldn’t let them off. I pulled a mission impossible and casually acted like I was changing seats for one that would recline! As I was getting off three separate crew members came up to me to tell me they liked my bike…=-)

Back inside the terminal the rest of the crew were ordering pizza and getting ready for a long night. They figured the boat might not leave until midnight and were figuring out how to kill time. I am soooo glad I didn’t stay on the ferry any longer with no real food and no beer!

In the end I think my bike saved me from that potential 10hrs of ferry hell! If I hadn’t been on my bicycle they wouldn’t have had any reason to treat me special, but somehow the bicycle is the international symbol for nice guy who doesn’t mess with you and maybe you should help him out.

I’m sorry I won’t get to ride the SIR 100K, but I figured I needed to be up at 6am to get ready and eat before the 8am registration. Getting in to Seattle after midnight would have made that less than fun. Not to mention the hassle for my kind host John.

I did get a credit for another ferry trip so I’ll make my way to Seattle in May, perhaps with Sharon, for some bike riding, coffee drinking, beer imbibing and bike shop browsing.



11 responses

4 03 2011

So sorry that you didn’t make it. I’m sure that we can scare up another brevet when you make it next time. Oh yes and bring Sharon.


4 03 2011

I am as well, but having traveled a lot I have a great sense of when things are about to get really messed up. I’m just glad I made a move when I did. I bet the other 200+ passengers are still aboard getting cranky without having made an inch of progress towards Seattle yet…=-(

4 03 2011

Yech… glad ya got outta that mess.

I’m still dealing with bike fit issues, no riding for me either.

But, on the bright side, I found out there’s a local rando group here, and they’ve a 200, 300, 400, and 600 scheduled this year. The 200 is… tomorrow. Obviously not riding it, but the start is less than a mile from my house, so I plan to ride down in the morning for a meet’n’greet.

5 03 2011
gary sherck

Glad that you are safe. I forwarded your email with my Seattle daughter, Susan, and to John E. who I was hoping, but not 100 percent certain, would be able to hook-up you and John at the Ballard Avenue Pub.

5 03 2011
Mike Croy

Wow that is an awesome looking bike, I saw you riding across Quadra street coming down the Lochside trail while I was walking with my son.
I am a Victoria randonneur as well maybe we should try and hook up for a ride, I am just putting the finishing touches on my new Soma Es randonee bike and am eager to get out for a ride soon.



5 03 2011

So Vik, What kind of rig is that… looks really nice….what are the particulars?

5 03 2011

@Mike – hola….hopefully I was courteous when I passed you! Thanks for the kind words it is a very nice bike. I’m trying hard to let it dirty and scratched without freaking out. I know that is its destiny so I just need to let go…=-) I am going to be away working in Ontario for a couple weeks, but should be back at the end of March/start of April. I am a bit lazy so I’m always looking for someone to get out on a long ride with. Drop me a line when your bike is ready.

BTW – I had a look at the Soma ES and it looks sweet…l’m looking forward to seeing your build.

5 03 2011

@Jim – it’s a Boulder Bicycle [aka Rene Herse] 650B All Road randonneur bike. Uses ultra thin skinny steel tubes so it’s very flexible. I’ll be posting more info on it in the next few weeks.

5 03 2011
Brian Ogilvie

Vik–very nice-looking bike! I’ve been thinking of getting a Boulder Bicycle 650B bike sometime in fall 2012 or spring 2013 (after a sabbatical year when my only bike will be my New World Tourist), so I look forward to reading your impressions.

5 03 2011
Mike Croy

Hey Vik!

yes very courteous as riders to us pedestrians. When you get back drop me a line for sure. The Soma is ready to rock and roll now I,m just being touchy about getting out in the foul weather with it. I built it up as a cross between a contrsuctuer bike and a racing/ultra bike.

I will be rolling the bike out for the spring randonneur series with wife while she rides here Soma double cross. The onto the 1000km solo ride to port hardy in June.

8 03 2011
Kent Peterson

Ah things have a way of happening, don’t they. When you do get down here perhaps there will be time for riding, coffee, chats etc. BTW, awesome blogging you’ve been doing lately. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

