little vik – BIG VIK…

24 01 2011

little vik...

My weight fluctuates by 10-15lbs over the year depending on how much exercise I am doing, what I am eating and how much beer gets imbibed.  Since I’m reasonably thin that’s a significant amount of change and I used to struggle getting clothes that fit throughout the year.  I think seasonal weight change is normal and as long as it remains within a range that’s normal I don’t want to have to think about it a lot.  So what I did is buy two sizes of clothing.  I’ve got little vik clothes and BIG VIK clothes.  For pants that’s a 32″ & 34″ waist and for tops it’s a medium & large.  That way I always have clothes that fit me well and I know where I am in terms of my weight without a lot of thought.  If my little vik pants are hanging off me I can eat and drink what I want.  If my BIG VIK clothes are getting snug I know I have to moderate what goes in my mouth and exercise more. Between those two extremes I can pretty much do what I want as long as I am reasonable.

It’s a good system and doesn’t really cost more since I don’t wear out 2 pairs of jeans worn a bit each faster than if I had one pair wore them out and bought a second.  It also means I don’t have to own a scale or monitor my weight.  My clothes do that for me.