Battle Damage…

19 12 2010

I cracked her....

I’ved used my new Walden Magic Model for 6-8 sessions so far and managed to crack the fiberglass shell on one of the rails.  Not sure how it happened, but given some of my crashes and a few knocks against hard objects while carrying the board out of the water it’s not the board’s fault.

Duct tape to the rescue!...

I’ve got plans to surf at Jordan River today so I just slapped some duct tape over the crack to limit water penetration.  Monday morning my baby is off to Jason @ Island Shaper for a proper repair. Surfboards are very strong for their intended use, but fragile when smacked into hard objects.  I’ll protect my investment by jumping on the fix ASAP.  Hopefully I’ll have my baby back for next weekend.  We’ve got a boxing day surfing trip planned…=-)

BTW – I do store and transport my Walen in a surfboard bag to keep her in good shape.



Leave a Reply

