Continental Trail King Tires Review and Renew…

27 05 2013
Fresh rubber...

Fresh rubber…

I love my Continental Trail King tires. I’ve used my first pair for over a year and had zero flats, burps or other issues. Just great traction and reliable performance.

So when I started to uncharacteristically spin my tire on steeper looser climbs I checked my rear tire and it was worn badly. Time for new rubber.

The new tires say Rubber Queen on them because that’s what Trail Kings are called in Europe. Different name, but same tire. I bought the UST version again. They are heavy, but I love the traction and how great they are to setup tubeless. I chose the 2.4″ size a second time because I love how the large diameter tire rolls over roots and rocks. Skinny tires aren’t faster if you get hung up in every tech section.

I’ve heard some good things about the Schwalbe Hans Damf tire, but I figure why mess with success?

I really can’t say one bad thing about these tires. I hope Continental makes a 650B version when I get a new mountain bike.

She's hefty...

She’s hefty…

I kept the old front tire as a spare...

I kept the old front tire as a spare…

The rear was toast...

The rear was toast…

The Stans sealant in the tires had dried up...

The Stans sealant in the tires had dried up…

Letting the tires seal...

Letting the tires seal…

I used CO2 to seat the tires...

I used CO2 to seat the tires…

My Nomad waiting for the new rubber...

My Nomad waiting for the new rubber…

No more slipping on climbs...

No more slipping on climbs…

Ready to ride...

Ready to ride…

Time to shred the new tires for another year...

Time to shred the new tires for another year…


Actions

Information

6 responses

27 05 2013
Mike Lodewyk

I hear great things about the Hans Dampf too, but at 1/2 again the cost, I don’t know that I’ll ever try them out!

28 05 2013
richdirector

Reblogged this on Kitesurf Bike rambling and commented:
there is always a favourite tyre – lazyrando swears by his conti tyres ….

30 05 2013
Blair

Where’d you find them? How much? My 29R is out while the rear shock is being serviced. Bad timing so I figure I will put new rubber on my old DC Hummer to get me through the weekend.

30 05 2013
thelazyrando

@Blair

CRC has some versions in stock: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/SearchResults.aspx?Search=rubber+queen

Jenson USA has ‘em: http://www.jensonusa.com/Search?q=trail%20king

I got mine from CRC, but it was a few months ago so I don’t recall the price.

30 05 2013
Blair

Thanks Vic. Gotta get my hands on them this weekend. I will see what the Bro’s at the Cove have. Thought may be you got them at MEC.

30 05 2013
thelazyrando

@Blair – I have only seen the 26 x 2.4″ UST TKs stocked at one LBS and that was in the US.

Leave a Reply

