Vargo Triad Stove Review

24 05 2013
Looks sexy...

Looks sexy…

These Vargo Triad Ti stoves look sexy, but work like crap. Don’t waste your time buying and returning it! =( I tried one of these out in 2008 and was disappointed. I figured they might have improved it since then so I bought another at MEC.ca.

I filled it with methyl hydrate which is the easiest alcohol fuel for me to source. Lighting it was no problem, but even with a windscreen and inside my garage it was unable to boil 2.5 cups of water that I typically need to rehydrate a camp meal. The water ended up warm, but not boiling.

With my usual Trangia burner I can boil that much water for a meal and if I am lucky boil another cup for tea.

Too bad!

Too bad!

I’ll go back to using my trusty Trangia and try some of the DIY beer can stoves for an ultralight option. This Triad is going back to MEC and I won’t waste my time trying them again.


Actions

Information

3 responses

24 05 2013
codsow

I have the Triad XE, and it works well. I usually have the pot holders folded all the way down, almost in the “packed” position, and it boils for me, but I normally only boil enough water for tea or oatmeal. I almost bought the Triad, after reading your review glad I did not!

24 05 2013
DummyDiva

I just got a Trangia and am looking forward to it’s use in a couple of days while at Tahoe.

24 05 2013
Doug (@ecoDoug)

For alcohol, I’ve only ever used a cat food can + tin foil windscreen. No control but it just works.

Leave a Reply

