At the start of the Chili 200K…

4 03 2013
Bikes arriving at the start...

Bikes arriving at the start…

Brynne manning the registration...

Brynne manning the registration…

There is always paperwork to complete...

There is always paperwork to complete…

High visibility...

High visibility…

Control card...

Control card…

Croy HQ getting busy...

Croy HQ getting busy…

Mike pumping up morale...

Mike pumping up morale…

Guido, Jim and Phil...

Guido, Jim and Phil…

One less car...

One less car…

Eager to start...

Eager to start…

Lots of neon...

Lots of neon…

Excellent turnout...

Excellent turnout…

Mike giving out last minute instructions...

Mike giving out last minute instructions…

and they are off...

and they are off…

happy to be rolling...

Happy to be rolling…

ch26

Heading north on Milgrove…

They keep coming...

They keep coming…

and coming...

and coming…

and coming...

and coming…

and coming...

and coming…

and the last of the pack...

and the last of the pack…

My bike feeling lonely at the start...

My bike feeling lonely at the start…

Steve showing off the 200K pin...

Steve showing off the 200K pin…


Actions

Information

9 responses

4 03 2013
Ben

I like that orange reflective vest, any idea who the manufacturer is?

4 03 2013
thelazyrando

@Ben – i Goggled “orange cycle vest” and found this link:

http://www.bikeclothingmall.com/mavic-vision-vest-fluorescent-orange-vest-b003uwck44

4 03 2013
David

No Rando bike?

5 03 2013
Chris Cullum

Yup, it’s the Mavic Vision Vest. In France fluorescent and reflective vests meeting some EU standard are required at night. The Mavic one is about the best of the bunch IME. I think Performance carries them (or did).

I thought Vik was referring to my red ears from the sub-zero temps at the start…

5 03 2013
thelazyrando

@David – do you mean I wasn’t riding my Boulder? I didn’t ride the event so I just tooled over on my LHT with my camera.

25 03 2013
Matthew

Vik,

Without getting too deep in a complex topic, and knowing that you have a Boulder Co. Rando (650b) … would you say that a Surly LHT (or Cross Check) is acceptable for a rando season? The regular concern is the weight of the bike.

25 03 2013
thelazyrando

@Matthew – if you have a LHT or CC and want to ride a few brevets I would go for it.

If OTOH you are considering buying one for this purpose I would not recommend it.

A typical LHT build is ~30lbs and a typical rando bike is ~25lbs…that 5lbs is not going to make a difference.

What will make a difference is the fact the LHT uses tubing that overly stiff for unloaded riding. That means you really don’t get rewarded for hard efforts and it will be a tiring ride on a brevet compared to a rando bike.

The other issue with a LHT is that the tires they typically run are stiff and slow. This can be fixed easily so that’s not a deal breaker. If you do ride a LHT/CC in a brevet I would recommend buying some Grand Bois tires for it.

Keep in mind I am ~175lbs. This situation would be worse for a lighter person and if you are 250lbs+ you might find the CC a great rando bike.

If you could only choose between the LHT and CC I’d get the CC for brevets.

If you want to stick to a Surly and can handle 28mm tires I’d try a Pacer. It would be better with 32mm tires + fenders, but there isn’t clearance – at least on the spec sheet.

25 03 2013
Matthew

Thanks!

Q: Being an owner of a Thorn Raven Nomad, you’re obviously familiar with their product lineup.

When considering your brevet bike, was the Thorn Audax Mk3 on your list of possibilities?

1 04 2013
thelazyrando

@Matthew – I really only familiar with Thorn’s touring bikes. They were unique compared to what I could get in the US/Canada which is why they interested me. So I don’t really have an opinion on the Audax Mk3.

Thorn takes pride in over building their touring frames. If they use the same philosophy with their road frames I wouldn’t enjoy them.

If you are interested in them ask them what tubing diameter and wall thickness their tubes are. You can compared against some of the better performing steel rando bikes and see where they stand.

Leave a Reply

