Showing the Pugsley some love…

31 01 2013
New and used bling for my Pugs...

New and used bling for my Pugs…

I’m back in Victoria after a lovely trip south of the border. Having ridden my Surly Pugsley a ton in Baja I’ve come to appreciate it more than ever. I figured its many years of loyal service deserved some pay back. So I collected a few new and used parts to install on the bike.

  • Titec H-bar [used to be my Pugs bar and is going back on]
  • Brooks B17 [comfy for long rides]
  • lightly used SRAM 8spd chain
  • Surly Rolling Darryl rims with cut outs

I’ve been through a lot of handlebars and saddles on the Pugsley. I’m going back to the Titec H-bar because it provided the best balance of comfort and control for non-technical riding/touring. I’ve come to the realization that techy MTBing on a rigid bike just isn’t my thing. I’ve got a full suspension bike I enjoy riding technical terrain with much more. My only gripe with the Titec H-bar was the control placement for steep techy terrain. If I take that off the menu the H-bar rocks.

The plastic SDG saddle that’s currently on the Pugs is awesome for short rides of 1hr or 2hrs, but isn’t so comfy for all day rides. I had a spare Brooks B17 so I’ll use that instead.

My Pugsley’s chain is thoroughly trashed after the many weeks of beach use. I found a lightly used 8spd SRAM chain in my spare parts box so I’ll throw it on.

On the wheel front are the only new parts for the Pugs. A set of Surly Rolling Darryl rims with cut outs. My current rims are old skool Large Marges – I think I have the uber heavy DH version. So I’ll be able to drop weight from my wheels and get a wider tire footprint for sand use. This is definitely not an essential upgrade. My old wheels were going strong, but I’ve wanted to check out some of these lighter and wider rims for a while.

Before I mess with my current wheels I’m going to open up the Shimano Alfine 8 IGH. I want to make sure it’s in decent condition after 4yrs of neglect. If it isn’t I’ll use a different IGH – possibly a Rohloff I am not using or I’ll buy another Alfine 8 since they are so cheap and I don’t really need the Rohloff’s wide gear range for my fat biking.

If possible I’ll reuse the old spokes and nipples on the new rims. Who knows I may even get motivated to go tubeless for the maximum pimpage of the Pugs! ;)


Actions

Information

5 responses

31 01 2013
Kevin

I look forward to a review of your lighter wheelset. Been pondering moving to a set of Rolling Darryls from my Marge DH’s as well.

31 01 2013
Rob E. Loominess (@RobE)

I look forward to hearing how this goes. I’ve been building imaginary wheels for my imaginary Pugsley, and I was figuring if I was going to go fat, I might as well go all the way with Rolling Darryl. Hearing the opinion of someone who’s used both should be valuable.

31 01 2013
Rich

I have owned my Neck Romancer since 12/31. Spent new years eve rust proofing. Got to thank you for the great intel on your blog. Helped make the decesion. I love the thing. We got two feet of lake effect snow last week and it road down hard pack roads like it was the middle of July. Then it melted and then it snowed again and I just came in from a four mile trip around the block (we live out of town) just for kicks. I can’t believe what this bike will ride over on trails. I hate mountain biking (I like my teeth) and I love this beast in the woods.

Of course it came with RD’s. I can’t get them true but I really couldn’t deal mentally knowing there are lighter wheels with holes and not have them.

Going tubeless sounds like a pain. Picking up the bike and riding not worried about air is very nice. Also love the 45N flat pedals. Slap on some hiking boots and go. Must have bailed out a thousand times. Maybe clip in for commuting but not for snow roads unless you got a gripe with your collar bone.

1 02 2013
Steve Fuller

Seems we have similar things going on. :)

I have a set of Hope hubs waiting for Holy Rolling Daryll’s to come back in stock at QBP. I’m anxious to hear about your thoughts on them. I’ll be putting my Husker Du’s on them for dirt and using my GFS as dedicated rims for running Black Floyds for paved riding.

I also picked up a used Jones Loop bar to try out on my Mukluk. Just missed a deal on a Titec J Bar and a Titec Titanium hellion bar the other day. Seems handlebars are now my new obsession now that I’ve sold off all of my extra panniers.

8 05 2013
Surly Pugsley – Amazon Tree Frog Edition… | The Lazy Rando Blog...

[...] been working on some born again Pugsley wheels since January. First I bought some Rolling Darryl rims and got them powder coated [...]

Leave a Reply

