Camelbak Podium Water Bottle Review

28 04 2012

My Camelbak Podium water bottles - click on image for specs...

I use a hydration bladder when I mountain bike. For all my other biking I use bottles. These Camelbak Podium bottles are awesome. They don’t screw up the taste of your beverage. They have a lockable valve for horizontal water bottle cages or other times you don’t want them to leak [ie. in your car!]. The valves are easy to drink from and they are available in clear which I like so I can keep tabs on how much hydro I have left. The shape is easy to hold onto with gloves on. They’ve survived a couple years of abuse without any problems.

Lid and valve detail...

What’s most impressive is that I realized the other day that everyone I ride with uses these bottles. That equals total bike hydration domination…=-)

They are VikApproved!


Actions

Information

12 responses

28 04 2012
gowlin

Only downside is how hard it is to clean the lids..

28 04 2012
Freddy, your old bassist...

I love them…and for cleaning, the top rack of the dishwasher does it…

28 04 2012
champs794

The Camelbak Podium bottle was great, but it’s time you learned about the Specialized Purist. It’s everything good about the Podium, with none of the downsides:

http://specializedwaterbottles.com/hydroflo/

28 04 2012
VicMD

I personally like the Polar insulated bottles.

29 04 2012
Ryan

+1 on the Specialized Purist! Great bottles, and the large ones are the biggest I’ve seen that’ll fit a normal bottle cage.

29 04 2012
thelazyrando

@VicMD – I have a Polar insulated bottle, but rarely use it. It’s not hot enough around here to worry about warm drinks and Nothing else about that bottle rocks my world.

29 04 2012
thelazyrando

@Gowlin – I soak the lids in warm soapy water for 10-20mins and then rinse them. They look brand new each time and it no hassle.

29 04 2012
thelazyrando

@Champs – I won’t support Specialized so I’ve never seen/used that bottle.

29 04 2012
Chris Cullum

About the lids, do you find just soaking them gets rid of the crud that can breed under the nipple/one-way valve? Maybe I let mine sit too long but I don’t soak them after every ride. I find they need a periodic disassembly/clean out. Still great bottle though.

Curious, what’s the beef with Specialized? The whole going after the little guy thing that they did?

29 04 2012
Chris Cullum

Weren’t you wearing Specialized shoes?

29 04 2012
thelazyrando

@Chris – I soak mine after every use. I usually have a pot to clean so I fill it with hot tap water and soap. Then let the lids soak until I remember them….10mins to 2hrs…..pull out the lids and wash the pot and I’m done.

I use a very dilute water & koolaid solution on most rides so it doesn’t get too gnarly.

I don’t want to get into the whole Specialized thing on my blog. I’m not on a crusade I just don’t have a lot of time for the company or its products.

Yes my shoes are Specialized branded. When I bought them I didn’t feel as strongly as I do now – although I wasn’t a huge fan at the time either. I’m not going to chuck them out in protest, but I won’t be buying new ones from them.

29 04 2012
Val Garou

I’m pretty sure the Camelbak lids and bottles are dishwasher-safe, so that’s always an option if one is worried about cleanliness.

Leave a Reply

