Giving Thanks!

28 09 2011

It's blue, it's new and shiny and it's ready to roll...

Canadian Thanksgiving is coming up soon. We have ours early so we get to eat all the freshest juicest Turkeys and then we freeze and dry out what’s left over and sell them in the US when their Thanksgiving holiday rolls around…hahahaha…=-)

So I wanted to say thank you to:

  • Aaron Mankowske
  • The Fairfield Bicycle Shop
  • NRG [Canadian Surly Distributors]
  • The Surly Mothership

When we realized Sharon’s Surly Cross Check fork was bent after a moron rammed her on the way to work this summer we were bummed. Replacement forks are available, but only in black. That meant buying a new fork and trying to get it colour matched to the frame or getting both powder coated. Whichever way you slice it the result was going to be expensive and a hassle. I asked a Surly dealer [who shall not be named] if they could get me a blue fork to match Sharon’s frame. They made some calls and came back with a “…no chance…only black forks are available…” That’s what I expected so I asked Aaron to order me a fork through The Fairfield Bicycle Shop.

Aaron and Fairfield took the not insignificant step of calling/emailing NRG and Surly a number of times to investigate the possibility of a blue fork being obtained. I know this was a PITA for them and given the mark up on the fork not worth their time or trouble. On the other end someone at Surly had to listen to these requests and figure out a way to help us out. That meant getting NRG the Canadian Surly distributor involved. Keeping in mind everyone involved spent more $$$ worth of time on all this than they would make off selling a several complete bikes let alone the few bucks they’d make on a single fork.

The end result of this kindness and consideration is that Sharon has a brand new Surly Cross Check fork in the exact same Robin’s Egg blue as her frame. That means that she’ll be putting away her gnarly old commuter mountain bike and riding her kick ass uber Cross Check Commuter Assault Rig…=-)

Both Sharon and I say a sincere thank you to everyone who played a part in getting this fork to us…=-)

BTW – if you are ever choosing between buying something at your LBS or saving a few bucks by ordering online keep this story in mind.

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 09 2011
Henrik

Surly rocks. Not only do I love my Big Dummy to death (and it truly has replaced my car), but their customer service is top-notch. So glad you were able to get that fork issue solved!

28 09 2011
Doug@MnBicycleCommuter

The people at Surly are real people that rides bikes…..and…oh yeah…..run a kick#@* bike brand as well.

29 09 2011
mike

surly does rock, but i’m not surprised that they would give you special treatment that ordinary non product reviewers could not get

29 09 2011
thelazyrando

@Mike – While it’s possible this blog was some incentive for those involved, but I think it would be vastly overstating the situation to assume that it really matters to Surly’s sales in any meaningful way if I post something nice about them on this blog. So when they did something nice for me that was a PITA there really was no upside for them other than helping to get my GF back on her bike.

I’ve had two other incidents when Surly really helped me out and one was when I didn’t have a blog and the other was dealing with NRG when the guy I was speaking to didn’t have any clue I was someone with a blog.

I wouldn’t expect a colour matched replacement fork if, God forbid, I needed another one next year, but I would expect Surly to provide a high level of customer service because that’s the folks they are.

One thing though – Surly uses a network of dealers and that’s how people should address any issues they have – through the dealer they bought the product from.

29 09 2011
ratwell

Once again Fairfield reigns supreme. I love those guys.

Never taking no for an answer has always been my approach. Quite often “no” is simply a salesman’s reply to “I don’t know”. Many times I’ve found that there is an avenue to satisfaction somewhere out there: you just have to persevere in order to find it.

One time Bosch comp’d me the last alternator model they had in their inventory that I needed. It was located on a shelf in a training room (how’s that for an accurate inventory system!).

I listened to a lot of no’s telling me there were no more available anywhere in the world? In my experience, there’s usually one more somewhere out there…

Leave a Reply

