Charlene & Rowan…

23 08 2011

Rowan, Charlene and I...

I’ve known of and chatted with Charlene B [aka Machka] online for something like 7yrs. She is a regular on BikeForums.net as well as being an Alberta Randonneur from Red Deer. Our paths never quite crossed over the years and she married Rowan after meeting at one edition of PBP then moved to Australia. So when they were coming through Victoria on a bike tour yesterday we finally got the chance to meet for a yummy dinner. Getting to know folks in person with whom you’ve interacted a bunch online is interesting as you have the normal “getting to know you” routine going on in parallel with the “how’s it going old buddy – remember the time when…” routine going on. I guess in the online age that’s a normal thing now with people meeting first online and then in person at a later date.

We had a good chat over a nice Thai meal. It was great to finally meet in person. I let them know that their recent accounts of trying and buying a tandem that they posted to BikeForums.net was the final motivation that I needed to get off my butt and get Sharon and I a tandem for ourselves. That’s definitely been one of the best bike related decisions I’ve made in the last year or two! So thanks Charlene and Rowan for taking the time to share your experiences with everyone online…=-)

They are headed up the island to Duncan today as they continue their tour. Safe travels!


Actions

Information

3 responses

23 08 2011
David Crowell

Machka is awesome. I’ve never met her, but it’s obvious from her writing.

23 08 2011
Chuck

WOW! Two of my cycling-on-line heroes together – I’m so excite! You two make up about 60% of the most valuable cycling related content on the net.

24 08 2011
Chris Emerson

Thank you to all the people, including you Vik, who take the time to post quality information, experiences and considered opinions. I’ve found this type of information to be a great catalyst/time saver/insipration over the last couple years while assembling and tweeking my Surly Big Dummy.

Leave a Reply

