Boulder Bicycle All Road MK3…

11 05 2011

Getting close to perfection...

I’ve had a number of small tweaks I wanted to make to my Boulder Bicycle All Road rando rig. I finally got my butt in gear the last couple of days and wrenched on my bike while I watched some playoff hockey on my computer.

Lazy - that's me!

I got some custom Buddy Flaps made for my bike. They are sold as a set with the rear flap made with reflective material. My front Honjo fender is so long I couldn’t use the front Buddy Flap so I DIY’d one out of that big piece of stair tread material I have on hand. I’ll use the the now spare front “lazy” flap on another bike. The rear flap is more burly than needed, but it looks cool and provides perfect coverage. If you are a weight weenie you may want to stick with a chunk of milk jug and use a sharpie marker to customize it!

Front DIY mud flap...

The Honjo ultra light mud flaps that I got from Boulder Bicycle are indeed very light, but only offer minimal protection. I prefer to have more protection and I’m okay with a little extra weight to get it.

Berthoud large seatbag...

Acorn may not want to sell bike bags to Canadians, but Berthoud has no such qualms! I got a large Berthoud seatbag which I will use for longer brevets. This is actually an older version without a QR. I prefer attaching the bag to the saddle with a leather strap rather than the complexity and dead weight of a QR I’ll never use. I have my spare 650B tire, 2 tubes and my flat change/patch kit in there. Since I rarely need these item it frees up room in my bar bag for extra clothing and food.

I'm seeing red...

My white bar tape was getting grubby so I replaced it with some red tape that should last a while longer. I have a line on some washable white tape that doesn’t hold dirt, but couldn’t get it in right away. I’ll shelf it when it arrives until I’m feeling in a white mood!

Ding! Ding!

Almost every ride from my house starts with some bike path KMs. Having a bell to get the attention of dog walkers, roller bladers, etc.. is a nice thing. I found this Electra steerer mounted bell which doesn’t take up any bar real estate and looks nice on the bike. I also cut down the steerer a bit so I just have a minimal spacer above the stem.

B&M Baby!

The Blackburn rearview mirror I was using worked well, but it’s bulky and I have to put my hand on it when on the hoods which was not ideal. I installed a small, but effective B&M mirror on the end of the bar. An equally effective, but more elegant solution.

Dura Ace downtube shifter...

I still haven’t shifted out of the middle ring on a brevet. So I decided to ditch the bar end shifter for the front derailleur and instead install a downtube shifter. That freed up the left bar end for the B&M mirror I wanted to use and still gives me the option of the granny or big ring should I feel the need.


Actions

Information

22 responses

11 05 2011
Andrew Priest

Thanks for sharing. It is a very nice looking setup you have there. The saddle bag looked interesting till I saw the price .. $109 .. ouch.

11 05 2011
thelazyrando

Those Berthoud bags are expensive, but will last the rest of my lifetime so in those terms it seems like a good investment given the craftsmanship, functionality and aesthetic qualities.

11 05 2011
thelazyrando

Although not as nice as the Berthoud bags Velo Orange sells classic styled bike bags at ~50% the cost of these French bags:

http://store.velo-orange.com/index.php/accessories/bags-panniers-and-baskets.html

11 05 2011
doc

That’s just a gorgeous bike. I love fiddling with the details.

11 05 2011
thelazyrando

@doc – sad part is I’m getting close to being done all the tweaking I can do on this bike. That’s both a happy and sad thing. =>

11 05 2011
Jonthan

Nice looking build. I might suggest using some gasket material from the plumbing section of a hardware store for the mudflap instead. I think it looks better. http://i.imgur.com/qFHWC.jpg

11 05 2011
james

You have very well honed set up for those long rides and it is good looking too. I enjoyed the video from Scotland. I have never pushed past the century mark and I was pretty wasted by then too. Why don’t more randonneur riders use aerobars to have another comfortable rest position?

11 05 2011
Lee

You fit a Hetre in the GB saddlebag? Very nice. I have mine stuffed with an extra tube, Showers Pass rain jacket/windbreaker, and tool kit. Would love to also be able to stuff a back-up GB Lierre in there. In any event, nice looking rig!

11 05 2011
thelazyrando

@Jonthan – I think the niceness comes from the care with which it was cut from the original sheet of material. I’d hack up anything I started with pretty badly!

@James – I don’t like aerobars and have never had a need for them. Many randonneurs are training for PBP [Paris-Brest-Paris] a 1200km brevet where aerobars are not allowed. Having said that you do see some aerobar setups on randonneur bikes at every brevet.

11 05 2011
trailsnet

I love everything about this bike…

All the gadgets and bags are awesome.
The good ol’ tube shifter brings back memories.
The mud-flaps are essential.
The name, “Boulder Bicycle” is classic.

…except the seat; give me a wide comfortable cruiser seat anytime.

11 05 2011
Chandra

Vik,
Super nice and clean machine, like in the lyrics of “Penny Lane”!
Very clever placement of the rear-view mirror on the bar-end!
Mucho Cool!!
Peace :)

11 05 2011
Janice in GA

I’ve never tried one of those bar-end mirrors because I can’t convince myself I’d be able to actually SEE it under my arm. Do you have any problems with that?

I do have an old mirror that mounts on the brake hood. It vibrates enough so that it’s not very useful in low light. :(

12 05 2011
Rich

Vik, are you double layering your tape? not a lot of overlap on some of those wraps and it seems pretty ‘phat’ in places so wondering what you have under the tape.

Ta,
Rich.

12 05 2011
thelazyrando

@Janice – the Blackburn mirror I was using provides a mirror image area and is further out to the side of the bike. The B&M mirror is smaller and closer to the bike. I can see under my upper body and the quality of mirror image although smaller is sharper due to the better quality mirror and the solid mounting.

B&M sells the same mirror with longer stalks so you can run them to the side more if you like:

http://www.hostelshoppe.com/cgi-bin/readitem.pl?Accessory=987268561

Both versions in the link above are longer than what I am using.

As for low light conditions I am mostly interested in cars and cyclists behind me – both of which would be using lights and they are very obvious in either mirror style as it gets dark.

12 05 2011
thelazyrando

@Rich – no it’s a single wrap and there is nothing underneath. That roll of tape was strangely short so I had to try and stretch it out to cover the bar.

12 05 2011
thelazyrando

I have a wide cruiser seat in my parts bin. I find it uncomfortable after more than 20mins. The saddle on the bike has been comfortable for 18hrs of riding in a day and probably will be comfortable after 40hrs!

12 05 2011
Janice in GA

Thanks for the link to the mirror. That might actually be helpful to me!

The problem with using my mirror in low light is not that I can’t see car lights coming up behind me. It’s that I can’t tell how far back they are through the vibration. Of course, that may be more due to my old eyes than anything else. :(

12 05 2011
vik

I find the B&M mirrors to be the nicest/clearest image of any bike mirror I’ve used. I can’t say that they will solve your problem for sure, but they are relatively low cost so it might be worth the experiment.

28 05 2011
Guido

Sounds like you’ve been enjoying your bike Vik! I’m curious about how many teeth your middle chain ring has. I have a 48- 28 TA crank on my Kogswell and I rarely use the small ring. I was thinking 46 single ring with a 34 in back might work well with a narrow Q factor crank. I also like your mudflaps!

29 05 2011
thelazyrando

@Guido – 36T x 11-32 at the back end. I can ride up to 40kph at the high end – beyond that I’m tucking/coasting and I can climb at slow speeds on the low end. I don’t mind varying my cadence as needed.

3 06 2011
Nathan

This bicycle looks absolutely fantastic! Though i’m new to rando riding, this type of comfortable geometry, light weight, full protection fenders and accessible baggage is exactly the bike i’m looking to build… Which leads me to my 2 questions:
1. I’ve noticed that many trans iowa and dirty kanza riders are running Revelates tangle bags to decrease air resistance. Ever tried this route as compared to the handle bar bag?

2. Though I love this setup, I don’t have the coin to spend on such a frame. Any suggestions regarding frames which are similar in geometry, weight and versatility to your boulder bike which costs in the $500-$1000 range? I’ve been looking at the salsa casserole…

Thanks so much for the great blog! I look forward to reading your insight and about your experiences several times a week!

18 10 2011
Tim

Nice Flaps

Leave a Reply

