Thanks Mike!

24 04 2011

Mike on his Soma ES...

It turns out I have a rando neighbour. Mike is a member of the BC Randonneur Club and lives about 4 blocks away from me. He was nice enough to show me around some local roads recently which was a lot of fun. The Victoria area has some great riding, but I am only just scratching the surface and haven’t really explored many of the good routes. He took me on a 60km ride out to Metchosin. Since he is faster/fitter than me I was concerned I wouldn’t be able to keep up, but Mike was considerate and found a pace that was a nice relaxing spin for him and kept it below my puke/cry threshold….=-)

Cruising the backroads of Metchosin...

I had a chance to admire his sweet Soma ES rando rig. The paint is really pretty in the sunshine and of course I am a fan of the hammered metal fenders…=-) This was dangerously close to being a “training ride”. I might have my team slacker membership revoked if I am caught doing any training!

Mike and his lovely wife Brynne have a Cannondale tandem so who knows – maybe we’ll get some double tandem trouble riding in this summer?


Actions

Information

One response

24 04 2011
Mike

No problem! Oh wait. Wrong Mike.

Finding locals… best way to have beer left on you doorstep and to learn about the roads less traveled.

That is a handsome rig…

Leave a Reply

