LHT Update #1

20 04 2011

Shimano dynohub, Mavid CXP33 rim & B&M IQ CYO Plus light...

I’ve got the following done so far:

  • dynohub front wheel built up
  • New Schwalbe Marathon XR mounted
  • B&M light on hand ready to install
  • stripped frame and pulled fork
  • cleaned frame and fork
  • inspected paint
  • cleaned and inspected both OMM racks
  • cleaned rear wheel and inspected tire

Shimano dynohub detail...

  • The powder coat is in serviceable condition after many years of abuse. There are a few scratches/chips and the finish is dull/thin in a few spots. I considered taking this opportunity to get the frame freshly power coated. It would make sense as it may be another 7 years before I strip the bike down next. After some serious thought I decided that the sage green paint is a classic Surly Long Haul Trucker finish and I should leave it for the time being. Next time I refurbish this frame it will see a new powder coat so I’ll enjoy the sage green as long as I can. I’m planning on hunting down some touch up paint and using Pedros Bike Lust frame polish to restore some much needed luster to my trucker.
  • However, before I do that I am going to coat the inside of the tubes with frame saver rust proofing and clean up the inevitable mess that will result! Then do any touch ups to the finish and polish it before starting the reassembly process.
  • While I wait on getting touch up and frame saver [ordered] I will clean the derailleurs, cassette and chain. After checking the chain it has a lot of life left in it. I may have put a new chain on recently and not remembered. In any case the drivetrain has at least another season left in it so I’ll just clean and adjust. New cables and housing are in order.  I need to decide on the colour of the housing and pick some up.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 04 2011
Michael

Hooray for keeping the sage green!

22 04 2011
Doug

I like the Sage Green too. Glad to hear you’re keeping it for awhile longer. The first ever Surly bike I saw in person was a Sage Green LHT with an IGH. I’ve been buying Surly’s ever since.

25 05 2011
Surly LHT Update « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] will notice the new B&M Cyo IQ Plus tucked under the OMM Cold Springs rack and connected to a Shimano DH-3N80 dynohub. It’s hard to overstate how useful a high quality light [with vertical cut off] with a [...]

Leave a Reply

