Proud to be ashamed!

14 04 2011

Clean and tweaked - ready to get dirty again...

So my Work Stand of Shame methodology was successful…=-) I’m done working on my Bow Cycle 24 rando back up bike. Got almost everything done and what I didn’t do was for external reasons. The bike is nice and clean again.

Front fender tweaked and mudflap installed...

Fixed front flat, tweaked the fender alignment and installed a DIY milk jug mudflap.

The rear mega flap!

Taking some advice from BikeForums.net I fashioned the rear mudflap from some stair covering material. It’s easy to work with – not sure how it will perform, but there is only one way to find out.

That's what a non-integrated fender line looks like...=-)

I noticed the left rear brake pad was loose so I sorted that out while I was at it. *sigh* What a F-ugly fender line – better than nothing I suppose.

A cockpit interrupted!

I got the Dinotte 200L-AA mounted so I have lights for this bike. I gave up on the GPS as the interrupter brake levers [which I don't use] are right where the GPS needs to go. In a pinch I can mount it further to the left, but since my only need for the GPS is brevets and this is only a back up bike I won’t bother taking up valuable hand space with the GPS mount until I need it. When I do an overhaul of this bike I’ll strip the interrupter levers off it as they are dead weight to me and just taking up space I’d rather use for other things.

No Brooks yet...

My Brooks B17 Imperial Narrow saddle hasn’t shown up yet so I gave up waiting and will ride the stock plastic one until my Brooks arrives. I adjusted the rear light and checked that the batteries are in good shape. About 3hrs work all told that only took 9 months or so to get done!

This baby is ready to roll…=-)


Actions

Information

6 responses

14 04 2011
Micheal Blue

Vik, for DIY mud flaps I used MEC’s rear deflector shield (Product Number: 4000-410) and cut it into the right-size pieces. The shield is cheap, the right stiffness. I used zip ties to attach them to the fenders. It’s amazing the fender manufacturers don’t get it – for fenders to be effective they need to go (almost) all the way down. What gives?

14 04 2011
Raymond Parker

Vik, if I’m not mistaken, looks like you have only one bolt on that flap, meaning it will likely swing to one side, allowing spray out. I once had the misfortune of following a bike like this in a typical Vancouver Island spring monsoon. At the end of the brevet, I looked like I’d ridden Paris-Roubaix.

The length is good. A lot of mudflaps are made too short.

Here’s my approach

14 04 2011
thelazyrando

@Raymond – there are two bolts on each flap. The front ones are stacked vertically and the rear ones and side by side.

14 04 2011
Raymond Parker

Ah, hard to see from photo. As you were. :-)

14 04 2011
Mike Croy

Sweet looking ride Vik, you have a very nice looking stable of bicycles.

14 04 2011
Gerco

Vik,
Have you ever considered taking an extra fender and use part of it to make the mounted one a bit longer?? This way your extended fender would still follow the curve of the tyre and could go all the way down.

Leave a Reply

