Aushiker’s Hebie Stand on a Surly LHT…

22 03 2011

LHT with Hebie 2 legged stand...

Aushiker posted a nice review of a Hebie 2 legged kickstand mounted to his Surly Long Haul Trucker [LHT]. I’ve used an ESGE 2 legged kickstand in the past on my LHT and really enjoyed having it available anytime I wanted on tour. Currently my LHT is kickstand-less as it came off during my last big maintenance session and I haven’t put it back on yet. For around town rides I don’t find I need a kickstand on this bike because I have to lock it to something when I stop anyways so I lean it against the object I lock to. For a long tour I’d definitely reinstall the ESGE stand.

My LHT on its stand...


Actions

Information

8 responses

22 03 2011
Andrew Priest

Thanks for the comments and the link.

22 03 2011
Kriss

I have just set up my LHT with dual panniers and the Pletscher double leg stand. I must say I do have trouble with asymetric loads. I am gradually cutting the stand down and it is getting more stable at lower angles, but i would dearly love to keep the back wheel high enough off the ground to perform maintenance tasks. When I ride to work I use 1 pannier, and maybe its just me but it seems to be more stable if the pannier is on the drive side. If I cannot get this stand to worl I may need to look at the hebbie option. Which would be sad since the Pletscher has style to boot. Kriss.

22 03 2011
vik

@Kriss – I cut my ESGE kickstand quite short. It works better that way since the loaded bike isn’t so high up. It worked fine even in desert sand when I was on tour in Baja.

19 09 2011
Kim

Do you have the MEC lowrider up front with the VO fenders on it? I’m having trouble getting both on my LHT at the same time. I would be grateful for some photos!

19 09 2011
thelazyrando

@Kim – the bike shown in the post you commented on is from Australia so it probably doesn’t have a MEC rack on it.

19 09 2011
Kim

Dang! Looks like a very similar rack, and from what I can tell the MEC design is based on the Jim Blackburn low-rider. Photos of either one of these racks with the VO or other metal fender setup would likely help me get these things together.

19 09 2011
thelazyrando

@Kim – the link to Aushiker’s blog is in the post. You can email/comment on his blog and see if he can snap a pic for you.

19 09 2011
Kim

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

