Soaking in the sunshine…

5 03 2011

Countryside ramble...

Given the nice weather today I wasn’t going to miss my chance to pedal. Heading out of Victoria is easy from my house. Within a few minutes I’m on rural bike paths or quiet country roads. Spinning along on wide tires I don’t really care if the surface is paved, gravel or dirt. My bike just wants to roll. Passing fields, farms and houses as I ride through the trees and then along the ocean it’s not hard to figure out why so many cyclists call Victoria home…=-)


Actions

Information

7 responses

5 03 2011
AC

Sounds like positive impressions so far, hmm? I am aching so bad to get my frame and build it. I started talking to Mike way back in August but wasn’t able to actually order until January – so it’s been a long time coming. I’ve got the red Hetre’s sitting here though, and I’m just imagining how nice they’re going to roll over the rough mixed terrain we’ve got here in Vermont :-)

Is it crazy to want to build a bike around a set of tires? I’ve heard that they really are THAT good.

6 03 2011
Kriss

Hey Vik, what helmet are you wearing in the pic? Kriss.

6 03 2011
thelazyrando

@Aaron – building a bike around some tires makes perfect sense. Tire width drives wheel size which drives frame construction so you really need to start with the tires you want and how you want to carry your load [front or rear].

You’ll enjoy the bike – especially it is your first low trail bike. The steering is a revelation.

BTW – I have a set of white Hetres here that match my bike’s paint…lol..vain I know. I’ll put them on for some big mass start ride and polish up the bike so it gleams..=-)

6 03 2011
6 03 2011
Kriss

Thanks. I have been looking for a new helmet with a slightly less road racer look. Have been looking at Bern and the Giro Section helmet that looks leather-covered.

6 03 2011
thelazyrando

Cool. Berns are my favourite. Not sure how they will do at max efforts in summer, but I will try them and see. I own a couple Giro roadie helmets, but don’t enjoy the space alien vibe they give off…=-)

6 03 2011
thelazyrando

Leave a Reply

