Seattle March 5th Weekend!

23 02 2011

 

See you soon Seattle!

My plans for the SIR 100K populaire in Seattle on Saturday March 5th are on track.  I’ll be taking the ferry over from Victoria on Friday the 4th and leaving Monday the 7th in the morning.  If hooking up for the 100K or just for a coffee ride Sunday is of interest drop me a line and we’ll sort out the details.

 

SIR 100K Route Map...

Someone offered to let me stay with them in their place downtown, but I’ve managed to lose the contact info!!  If that offer is still open and you read this please drop me a line…=-)  Otherwise I’ll have to find a bike friendly hotel in Seattle.


Actions

Information

18 responses

23 02 2011
John

You can stay with me at my house in Seattle if you’d like. I actually put together a big dummy very similar to yours after reading your blog and attached a stokemonkey you might like to try/comment on. I also have a Brompton and so we could incite the old rivalry again…

I live in Ballard which is just north of downtown. I’m near salmon bay park.

24 02 2011
thelazyrando

@John – thanks that’s very kind of you. My work needs me to do something Monday so I’ll be in town Friday and Saturday night leaving Sunday AM.

24 02 2011
John

Great. It will fun. Just give me the details of your arrival, etc.

24 02 2011
thelazyrando

I arrive at 745pm at the ferry terminal downtown [SEA Pier 69 with my bike] Friday.

The 100K starts at 9am Sat with 8am registration. Any interest in doing the ride? I have no plans for rest of Sat at the moment if you have any other ideas of stuff to do.

My ferry leaves from same spot at 8am Sunday.

24 02 2011
John

OK. Great. I could meet you there at the ferry Friday night with my bike or pick you up in the car. I have a Thule rack on top. If we bike, it’s a 35-40 min. ride home up north to Ballard. Either way is fine with me. Let me know what you’d prefer.

I could do the Brevet, but haven’t looked into the details. Looks like fun! How fast is it though? I’m a frequent commuter and pleasure rider, riding 15 miles a day. I’ll check the Brevet out in more detail. I don’t want to kill your buzz if I only average 12 mph or so.

I understand if something comes up, but if you’re available I can spend Saturday after the ride with you. There’s always something to do in Seattle. I’ll look at what happening in town and get back to you. I do want you to see my cargo bike and a couple of other bikes I own at some point. What bike will you be bringing?

24 02 2011
thelazyrando

@John – it would be great to bike from the ferry to your place. I’m there to see the city a bit and riding would make that more fun.

As for the brevet the pace is whatever we want. There is no score and unless we have a mechanical I can’t see us not finishing in the allowed time. I have done zero training and with a foot of snow out there probably won’t get much riding in before the event. I’ve got no objectives in mind other than to ride my bike so I’m sure we could come up with a mutually agreeable pace.

I’m happy to hang out Sat PM….there may be some other folks that want to hang out so maybe we could swing by a pub or something where people can show up if they like?

Sounds like fun!

24 02 2011
John

Sounds good to me. I’ll look at the Brevet details to make sure. Pub would be great too and we have some cool options. There are a couple of pub/bike shop options as well. No kidding.

26 02 2011
Brad

Oh, John beat me to it. I was the one who offered a couple of weeks ago but it sounds like John may have the better offer. Perhaps we can meet up!

Enjoy the populaire. You will do great.

Brad

26 02 2011
amberajax

Hey Vik, I will be thinking of you & John on the 5th from snowy Cleveland; however, I have been riding my Pug in the snow here.

I will also fwd. this link to my Seattle friend, John Eickelberg, who lives on the North Side; he is a Boeing engineer who has two cargo bikes, but was crashed during an early morning commute to work by a truck, about nine months ago. Torn up bad. However, he was able to work on Dec 10th. Perhaps, he will connect with you guys at the pub, or take his son to the populaire.

My other reason for this post is to ask you what bike your will be riding. Thanks, gary sherck

27 02 2011
thelazyrando

@Brad – sorry I flailed and lost your info…my apologies…=-(

I was planning on hitting up a pub downtown so that anyone who wanted to drop by Sat PM could do so. It would be great to meet you and I owe you a pint!..=-)

1 03 2011
thelazyrando

@John – just wondering if I could get a cell# from you in case we have trouble connecting at the ferry? Mine is 778xxxx678xxxxx7510 – x’s are for ‘bot protection….=-)

Also can we pick a pub and a time for Sat PM so I can post on the blog in case anyone wants to meet up?

1 03 2011
John

Thanks. My cell is 206xxxxxxxx437xxxxxxxxxx6086.We could try the new “Ballard Avenue Pub” near my house. Is 6:45 too early? It could get crowded later. There are many alternatives.

1 03 2011
thelazyrando

The ride starts at 9am so say 5hrs to ride at 20kph [12.5mph] + 1hr to get back to your place – that’s ~3pm….even if it took a longer to complete the ride 645pm is lots…even 6pm would work.

1 03 2011
thelazyrando

@John – if you plan to ride the SIR 100K can I leave logistics of getting to the start up to you? I’ll program the 100K route into my GPS so we don’t get lost!

If you don’t plan on riding it no worries I can map out my route there.

1 03 2011
thelazyrando

Just checked the ride to and from the 100K is 20miles so that will take 2hrs of riding with a long coffee stop on leg!

1 03 2011
John

Ride looks like fun. I just need to replace my Salsa Casseroll’s chain which has stretched a bit. I haven’t replaced a chain before, so I may prefer to take it to a bike shop. It’s probably easy, but I wouldn’t want to make a mistake if I’m going to be riding that long.

I assumed I would drive us to the start. Is that too weenie of me? :)

1 03 2011
thelazyrando

Not weenie at all given the weather and the time of year! I was only going to ride if I was alone because my bike is my only form of transport on this trip. I’ve done ZERO training so far this year so I’m not dying to add 60kms to the mix!…=-) Not to mention having to get up at 5am!

They’ve got a pre-ride report and cue sheets posted on the SIR site:

http://www.seattlerandonneur.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=355:sir-populaire-100k-rusa-352011&catid=43:2011-brevets&Itemid=28

4 03 2011
thelazyrando

@John – this is the jacket/helmet I’ll be wearing and the bike I’ll be on tonight:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/vikapproved/5495912720/

Leave a Reply

