Bicycle Quarterly Baby!

13 02 2011

All 8 volumes of Bicycle Quarterly...

I enjoy reading Bicycle Quarterly Magazine.  I’ve been a subscriber for 2 or 3 years and bought individual issues around those subscriptions, but sadly I could only put my hands on a few copies of BQ lately.  I suspect some got lent out and not returned and others lost or misplaced.  I recently decided to bite the bullet and order all the back issues of BQ.  Since I do have some old copies this gives me a few duplicates, but the buy all 8 volumes button was far easier then going through and trying to get only the issues I needed.

I know Jan Heine isn’t getting rich off this enterprise and if I want more BQ to read I have to support him so the extra copies are a small price to pay.  If you want to check out my BQ collection you are welcome to do so at my house, but I won’t be letting them leave the property!

I also wanted to get Jan’s Golden Age of Hand-built Cycling book, but decided to wait until the summer since I’ve got months of bike reading already with these BQ back issues.  By waiting I can also justify getting his Competition Bicycle book which looks great as well.

If you have some spare $$ and were thinking about buying an upgrade for your bikes consider back issues of BQ.  Knowledge is power and you will probably get more benefit from reading BQ than a titanium spoke wrench…=-)


Actions

Information

9 responses

13 02 2011
Bryan

Oooh titanium spoke wrench!

I keep hearing about BQ, think I just might have to follow that link. :)

13 02 2011
thelazyrando

@Bryan – you won’t regret it. If you want to just order 4 sample back issues to get a feel for it I can let you which ones you might find most interesting.

13 02 2011
Aaron M

Howdy Vik,
I’ve recently picked up a couple of copies of BQ & really enjoyed the articles and over-all feel of the publication. BQ is vastly different, & in many, many ways superior to conventional cycling magazines bloated with mis-information, & advertising. If you’d like to read the Golden Age of Handbuilt Bikes book, I already own a copy & would happily lend it to you when you return. It’s an engrossing book & makes contemporary cycles look rather tame & uninspiring. Looking forward to a rando ride when you get back on the island.

13 02 2011
thelazyrando

@Aaron – I’ll be home this weekend coming up. I’ll drop you a line – maybe we can go for a ride during the week?

13 02 2011
Doug

I got in from work yesterday and found the 8 volume BQ back issue set waiting for me as a Valentine’s gift from my sweetie. She finally pulled me away from them at lunchtime today to go out for a walk, and when we got back I checked you out and found this. “See! See! I’m not the only one!” She’s very patient with me.

13 02 2011
thelazyrando

@Doug…great minds…=-)~

13 02 2011
Aaron M

A ride would be great, I’ll be heading to the Interior for a little snowboarding trip next tuesday after work and the sunday before I’ll likely be going on a dive in the morning but that leaves the evening or monday night to go for a pedal.

13 02 2011
thelazyrando

Let’s plan for Monday…I’d like to shoot for 2pm and maybe a 50-60km ride…maybe out to Sidney for a cup of tea/coffee?

13 02 2011
Aaron M

I would love to go for a ride on monday but unfortunately I’ll be working in the shop until 5:30pm so a ride to Sidney wouldn’t be in the cards. We could just get together for a java and plan our next ride.

Leave a Reply

