little vik – BIG VIK…

24 01 2011

little vik...

My weight fluctuates by 10-15lbs over the year depending on how much exercise I am doing, what I am eating and how much beer gets imbibed.  Since I’m reasonably thin that’s a significant amount of change and I used to struggle getting clothes that fit throughout the year.  I think seasonal weight change is normal and as long as it remains within a range that’s normal I don’t want to have to think about it a lot.  So what I did is buy two sizes of clothing.  I’ve got little vik clothes and BIG VIK clothes.  For pants that’s a 32″ & 34″ waist and for tops it’s a medium & large.  That way I always have clothes that fit me well and I know where I am in terms of my weight without a lot of thought.  If my little vik pants are hanging off me I can eat and drink what I want.  If my BIG VIK clothes are getting snug I know I have to moderate what goes in my mouth and exercise more. Between those two extremes I can pretty much do what I want as long as I am reasonable.

It’s a good system and doesn’t really cost more since I don’t wear out 2 pairs of jeans worn a bit each faster than if I had one pair wore them out and bought a second.  It also means I don’t have to own a scale or monitor my weight.  My clothes do that for me.


Actions

Information

6 responses

24 01 2011
Dylster

What, no “BIG VIK” pics? :)

24 01 2011
vik

I had one great one with a bit of a beer belly at the start of a trip down to Baja, but I seem to have deleted it! That’s the one benefit of controlling my blog and Flickr photos – I can delete any unflattering material!

24 01 2011
alang

i know how you feel! i have gained about 15lb since the summer. this is actually the most i have ever weighed – between about 175-180. so i don’t really have a refined system yet. the pants are kinda snug, but i tend to buy on the loose side anyway. better start riding more!

24 01 2011
Brian

same here! I’m 5’8″ and fluctuate between 175 – 190lbs each year. When you’re not very tall, gaining weight can make a big difference in the way your clothes fit. I too have “fat clothes” and “skinny clothes”.

13 02 2011
DrMekon

Hmm – I don’t have the answer yet, but I work with a big team of epidemiologists who study the aetiology of type 2 diabetes. I recently lost 25kg (audax + long distance commuting). However, over the winter, I regained 5kg. I mentioned it to the lead of the epi team, and he was very clear that weight fluctuation was a *very bad thing*. I didn’t press him on it as we were meant to be discussing research, and 2″ waist size or 5kg may be within safe limits, but it’s certainly got me interested enough to plan to follow it up with him.

13 02 2011
thelazyrando

@DrM – if weight fluctuation is a problem then everybody in Canada has it! There is simply no way your weight will remain constant when you go from summer through a harsh winter and back.

Leave a Reply

