New Rain Jacket…

22 01 2011

MEC Derecho...

I’m in the market for a new cycling rain jacket for Feb 2011.  The main use will be around town riding and rando events/training.  I went down to MEC and tried on their Derecho jacket as well as the Shower Pass Elite 2.0 jacket.  The Shower Pass didn’t fit me well so it got cut from consideration.  The Derecho fits well and has lots of venting.  Reading the reviews at MEC a Victoria Area randonneur gives it a reasonably positive review, but he would prefer a more breathable fabric.

I’ve got a bit of time before I need to pull the trigger so if you know of another option that is highly breathable with lots of venting let me know.  If I don’t come up with anything better when I’m back from Baja I’ll score the Derecho and get on with it.


Actions

Information

14 responses

22 01 2011
paul

Check out the Groundeffect site , I own a Flash Gordon , which has been great and still is.They also have the Stormtrooper which is even better with a hood.Don’t know how that price compares to the Canadian $.My jacket has been great over the last few years.

22 01 2011
vik

Thanks Paul…cost looks comparable….the benefit of buying locally from MEC is that they will take back anything no questions asked if you are not satisfied.

I have heard the eVent fabric is a better option so I’ll see if there is anything with eVent available locally.

22 01 2011
Val Garou

Vik,

Seattle is only kinda local to you, but if I was in the market, I would be very interested in this jacket from REI: http://www.rei.com/product/801580 . I suppose if it doesn’t work out, you can always return it on your way south next winter.

The reason I’m not in the market, though, is that I got a smoking deal on one of these (http://www.realcyclist.com/gore-bike-wear-alp-x-jacket-mens-gbw0001) right before winter set in. I haven’t had a chance to put it through its paces yet, but the weight and the lifetime warranty seem right to me.

22 01 2011
thelazyrando

I’m headed past several REIs on my way home, but I think I’d rather have the gore jacket:

http://www.realcyclist.com/gore-bike-wear-alp-x-jacket-mens

22 01 2011
thelazyrando

@Val – can you tell me how the Gore jacket fits relative to a MEC medium or large? I’ll have to order online and prefer medium, but sometimes I’m too wide in the shoulders for that. I fit MEC men’s medium perfectly!

23 01 2011
Val Garou

Vik,

You bet. Give me a day or two to get over to MEC and try on this year’s Derecho.

23 01 2011
vik

Thanks – a men’s medium Derecho fits me perfectly. I may order a gore jacket on my way home for pick up at a friend’s in the US – you aren’t the first person to suggest one so perhaps now is the time if the fit seems to work.

23 01 2011
Doug

My wife bought me the Showers Pass Elite jacket last month. The eVent fabric one. It didn’t fit me. I’m not a big guy and it didn’t fit me in the shoulders. It was so tight I couldn’t lower my arms. Very disappointing, because I was really looking forward to that jacket. Not sure what my next option is.

24 01 2011
vik

@Doug – ya too bad…I had the same experience I’m not huge, but bigger shoulders/chest and longer arms than typical for my weight. The SP was too tight there and the next size up was huge on my body.

If it doesn’t fit you can’t do much about it even if it’s a great jacket.

I’ve heard lots of good stuff about the Gorewear bike jackets so I may score one.

24 01 2011
Russel

I’m liking the Novara Stratos Jacket pretty well. I road for a season or two with a way too big Showers Pass jacket because the size down didn’t fit me. The Stratos does fit me well. It’s has kept me pretty dry and not too sweaty during this pretty wet Portland OR winter.

24 01 2011
bikeboy999

Hey Vik,

I replaced a 20yr old MEC jacket with the new Derecho jacket this past summer. And it is very good. RE: the replacement of MEC, it is good for a long time.

25 01 2011
Carl Rubin

Vic: concur with the suggestion to check out Ground Effects. Very high end New Zealand company that makes cycling specific gear wth exceptional and materials. For out here in SE Asia, where the rainy season is the real deal, I use their top of the line Storm Trooper. Fabric keeps me dry as a bone, plus pit zips, roll up collar stored hood (which is purposefully make small to fit under the helment-that works pretty good), and folds into the rear zip pocket. Good design features. Light too. Wish it rolled up a touch smaller but have not found a better cycle specfic rain jacket for the job.

25 01 2011
thelazyrando

@Carl – I don’t doubt the performance of the GE products from NZ. The trouble is mail ordering from NZ is expensive for shipping, the sizing is uncertain and any problems have to be shipped back to them which is again expensive. I’d prefer to buy locally where I can try something on.

27 01 2011
Rain Jackets PT 2… « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] So based on feedback I’ve rec’d on my rain jacket post and some additional reading I’ve done online here are the contenders at the moment.  If you’ve had any experience with ‘em good or bad let me know. [...]

Leave a Reply

