Memories of Baja 2010…

7 01 2011

Fatty with a flaty...=-(

My last job before I hit the road to Baja was loading my Surly Pugsley. I noticed it had a front flat so I figured might as well fix it in Victoria.

I found 20+ thorns in both tires...

I was surprised to find a lot of thorns in both tires.  They could only have come from Baja last winter.  Some how they survived all year including a fair number of winter rides.

I got 'em all - I hope!

I broke out my mini-pliers and worked my way around each tire pulling all the thorns.

Amazingly I only found two holes in the front...

I used a tub of water to locate the holes.  Amazingly I only found two in the front tube.  At least that was at moderate pressure.  It’s possible there may be some additional pinholes. I patched the two and put the tire back on.  If it’s still holding air when I roll into La Ventana on Sunday I’ll know I got ‘em all.  If not time for a six pack and some hunting!

So sad....=-(

As I worked on my Pugsley I couldn’t help, but noticing how rough she looked…=-(  This bike takes a beating and gets almost no maintenance.  So far she hasn’t let me down!


Actions

Information

3 responses

7 01 2011
Rich

Surly’s are happier with a bit of rust showing, FACT!

7 01 2011
Jerome

Vik,

I’m a frequent reader of you blog and really appreciate the effort and energy you put into it. It’s easy to surf on over and take it for granted when something new gets posted. So, I wanted to say thanks for your efforts and adventurous spirit with bike-related things.

Enjoy your trip and the coming year.

Jerome

7 01 2011
thelazyrando

@Jerome – thanks…that’s very nice of you to say that.

Leave a Reply

