DeLorme GPS with Spot Communicator

19 12 2010

DeLorme PN-60W Earthmate with Spot

Update: this unit is $100 – $150 [varies with model] until 31 Dec 2010.  I’m very tempted, but must restrain myself!

I’ve used my buddy Kurt’s SPOT satellite locator beacon a few times.  It’s a handy way to keep folks aprised of where you are and even summon help when in remote spots.  I’ve been thinking about getting one myself, but it hasn’t worked its way to the top of my priority list yet…especially when I can borrow Kurt’s!  Well this new version is paired with a DeLorme GPS so you can transmit not only your position, but a one way text msg back to civilization.

Specifications...

That’s awesome!  If I’m kiteboarding at a remote lake and want to let other people know conditions are great I’d be able to do that so they can drive out. If I’m on a bike tour in a remote spot and need to set something up for my return, like ordering a spare part or arranging to meet someone for a pick up, I can now do that in the middle of nowhere.  Sweet!

Features...

I won’t be buying one when they first come out because I have a GPS I like and I don’t really want to spend $550USD to get the SPOT functionality.  I’m hoping they’ll make a SPOT that I can hook up to my iPhone or something like that to type a msg.  I’m not sure that will happen, but if it did I’d be ordering one tomorrow!  For now I’ll see how people like this product when it gets released this summer.  It may not be a sure fire acquisition, but getting a SPOT has moved up my priority list a bunch!

If anyone out there buys one let me know how you like it.

SPOT’s DeLorme PN-60W Eathmate Page

DeLorme’s PN-60W Product Page


Actions

Information

5 responses

7 08 2010
Alang

Thanks for the tip. After getting way lost on my last mini tour, I think it is time to take a gps plunge. I will be savng and researching for a while.

What do you use and why do you like it? Do you have a post on it somewhere already?

I was hoping to someday use a combo phone/gps (charged with dyno), but I like the idea of a standalone, dedicated unit more so.

7 08 2010
thelazyrando

I have always used Garmin products. They work great and have never let me down. I like sticking with one brand because the controls are intuitive and everything works together.

My navigation GPS is a Garmin Vista HCX…not sure what the equivalent current model would be.

If you are starting from scratch the DeLorme GPS with SPOT in this post looks sweet and I’d give it a try as the sat beacon and msging feature is very very handy.

8 04 2011
State of the Mediocre… « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] It’s a bit pathetic, but at least I know not to waste my efforts on any other Garmin outdoor handhelds. I’m going to call Delorme next and see if their unit with SPOT and satellite messaging can d…. [...]

10 04 2011
SPOT Connect… « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] I’ve been keeping my eye on the Delorme PN-60W which connect to a SPOT satellite beacon to let loved ones track your progress on a trip and also allows you to send short text messages via satellite when out of cell range. That satellite messaging service would be very handy indeed for me on some bike tours, sea kayak trips, trips to Baja, kiteboarding at remote lakes/beaches, etc… I’ve nearly bought that Delorme GPS on several occasions, but I wanted to milk my Garmin Vista Cx for as long as I could and I also figured it might be smart to wait for version 2 to come out in case there were any bugs in the first model. [...]

10 04 2011
SPOT Connect… « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] I’ve been keeping my eye on the Delorme PN-60W which connect to a SPOT satellite beacon to let loved ones track your progress on a trip and also allows you to send short text messages via satellite when out of cell range. That satellite messaging service would be very handy indeed for me on some bike tours, sea kayak trips, trips to Baja, kiteboarding at remote lakes/beaches, etc… I’ve nearly bought that Delorme GPS on several occasions, but I wanted to milk my Garmin Vista Cx for as long as I could and I also figured it might be smart to wait for version 2 to come out in case there were any bugs in the first model. [...]

Leave a Reply

