Vik’s Tikit Picks

17 11 2010

Sharon on a roll...

I get asked a lot about Tikit purchases so here is what I’d buy for a few different Bike Friday Tikit purchases:

Tikit on a Budget

  • stock black 8 speed derailleur Tikit
  • Schwalbe Marathons [replace when worn out with Greenspeed Scorcher TR tires]
  • fenders
  • rear standard rack
  • Ergon Grips
  • hyperfold [fast fold option] if the budget is big enough if not impulse fold saving $200
  • black colour because that’s what colour stock Tikits come in!
  • buy in Dec/Jan to take advantage of any slow season deals from Bike Friday

Stylie Simple Commuter Tikit

  • fixed gear One Way Tikit
  • Greenspeed Scorcher TR tires
  • fenders
  • rear standard rack
  • showercap
  • Ergon Grips
  • Brooks B17
  • heavy rider upgrade
  • hyperfold [fast fold option]
  • MKS metal QR pedals with half toe clips
  • pull rear v-brake
  • wasabi green colour is no longer available my bad!
  • Of the available colours I’d go for Racing Green or Princess Pink if I’m feeling sassy.

All Weather Commuter Tikit

  • IGH Season Tikit w/ Alfine 11
  • Greenspeed Scorcher TR tires
  • fenders
  • front 2 sided pannier rack
  • folding touring rack
  • showercap
  • Ergon Grips
  • Brook B17
  • heavy rider upgrade
  • hyperfold [fast fold option]
  • if $$ is no object add Gates carbon belt drive
  • white colour

Actions

Information

10 responses

17 11 2010
Andy R.

Vik comes through again! First it was Big Dummy advice, and now this. I’ve been exchanging email with Walter at BF about a belt drive, 11 speed tikit. Quite possibly in white, as they’ve discontinued the Wasabi Green option (Walter said it was looking like 2 different colors on one bike. Very inconsistent.)

I’m wondering about the heavy rider option you’ve suggested. I assume you like it because it stiffens the bike? How much more does it weigh? Do you find the bike too flexy without it? I’m about 155 lbs/70kgs these days, so no longer heavy myself. And my commuting would not involve panniers and such. Just a backpack or saddlebag. 20lbs tops. I’ve got another bike if I want to go heavy. Maybe I should ask Walter about it. His post on the belt drive prototype said they stiffened up the frame some, but maybe that was just the rear triangle.

Too many choices!

— Andy

17 11 2010
Jasen Robillard

Thanks Vik – appreciate all the help and insight you give us. I’m keeping an eye out for the All Weather Belt-Drive Tikit.

17 11 2010
thelazyrando

@Andy – too bad about the Wasabi Green…I was considering it for my next BF. You like the white it looks very smart. I have no idea what the heavy rider upgrade adds in weight…my guess a 1lb or so, but BF would know. I don’t think it is essential for me at 170-175lbs, but I don’t care about weight within reason and like my folding bikes stiff. So I don’t think at 155lbs it’s necessary for you. To be honest the only way for me to be 100% about the need for this upgrade is to have BF build me 2 identical Tikits one with and one without the heavy rider upgrade so I can try them back to back. Unfortunately that’s too much $$$ to satisfy my curiosity so I’m going the cautious route and getting it. My orange One Way Tikit has it and I like the way it rides.

For perspective my 3yr old Tikit is an early design that is not as stiff as the 2010 Tikits. I can tell the difference between it and my orange Tikit if I try and flex the frame, but when I’m riding normally I don’t really notice anything. BF offered to let me trade it in towards a new Tikit and I kept it so you can see that it’s not an issue.

I’d probably be just fine on a standard Tikit frame.

18 11 2010
Andy R.

Thanks, Vik. All good info. I’ll keep talking to Walter. I’m dreading the eventual price tag. :)

5 12 2010
Matt

I just finalized an order on November 24th for my Season Tikit with Alfine 11. I ended up springing for the Hyperfold option, folding rear rack and racing green color upgrade.

I weigh around 215 but did not ask for any type of heavy rider upgrade…wonder if Walter took that into account. I’m not quite sure, but I don’t think the Tikit comes with a chain guard…something I have to look into to. Vik – I notice your tikit doesn’t have a chainguard.

Three upgrades planned when it is delivered: Greenspeed Scorchers TR, Ergo bars and a Dynohub of some sort.. Definitely looking for suggestions on the dyno hub if anyone has some.

5 12 2010
thelazyrando

@Matt -I’d get the heavy rider upgrade. Check with Walter…you might be just below the max weight limit for the stock Tikit and they may not give you the heavy rider upgrade without you asking.

I’ve seen one custom chain guard on a Season Tikit, but that may be a one off and not a production item. The Tikits I ride don’t have a chainguard.

5 02 2011
Andrew S.

Hi Vik.

Thanks for all your great posts and photos about the tikit.

I had a medium just-the-tikit out for a ride today. The ride was good. My main concern is the shifting. The shifting wasn’t very smooth. With the grip shift I also found I was accidentally shifting. Do you have any thoughts on improving the shifting action without going to a BTO model? I’m either considering a Medium Model T or a BTO with Alfine 8 or 11. Going BTO adds significant costs though.

I’d appreciate your thoughts especially with your experience with your family of tikits and NWT IGH.

Thanks,

Andrew

5 02 2011
thelazyrando

@Andrew – my stock hyperfold Tikit shifts great – one of my best shifting bikes – which is surprising given the low cost parts. I don’t think you need a BTO to get good shifting..maybe the test bike wasn’t setup right?

5 02 2011
Andrew S.

Hi Vik.

I’m glad to year that your Tikit has been working well. Perhaps just slight tune is all it needed.

I’ll most likely be ordering my Tikit modeled on your Tikit-on-a-Budget. Medium Impulse fold. In addition to your suggestions I will also get the shower cap and a narrower saddle. I’ll probably call mine the Economy Tikit.

It will be used for bike-one-way, catch-a-ride return commutes and a trip to England and France.

I appreciate the efforts you put in answering questions.

Thanks,

Andrew.

6 02 2011
thelazyrando

@Andy – enjoy your Tikit – it’s a great bike and I love mine even though it’s a pretty basic model…you’ll have many fun miles together.

Leave a Reply

