Planet Bike Rack Bracket

22 10 2010

Superflash mounted to a rear rack...

At the end of September I was trying to be helpful when I mounted a 2nd Superflash to Sharon’s rear rack with a ziptie.  It worked, but the light was stolen within a week…=-(  John commented that MEC sold a Planet Bike braket that fit rear racks with a Euro style light mount at the back – thanks!  So I ordered one and installed it.

Simply useful...

Now Sharon can have a 2nd light mounted somewhere useful and she can remove the light when locking the bike up in a sketchy spot.

Nothing to steal now...

I’m really glad John told me that MEC sells these brackets, because I had seen them on the PB website, but it maks no sense to order a $3 braket and pay $10 shipping.  Since MEC had them I paid $0 shipping…nice!  BTW – these mounts will work for a Radbot as well.

Two rear blinkies...sweet!

Unfortunately none of my racks have this type of light mount so I can use it on my rigs…=-(


Actions

Information

14 responses

22 10 2010
jdmitch

I’ve found the PB rack bracket imminently tweakable ( and get the with free shipping from amazon since no one local carries them ). They also fit US style light drilling depending on your rack you coil even get a strip of aluminum strapping from the hardwar store to make you own mount location…

22 10 2010
thelazyrando

My main racks are all OMM and they have nothing to mount a bracket to. I could start drilling and fabing my own mount, but that’s just more effort than I ever get motivated to deal with.

Amazon doesn’t ship free to Canada.

22 10 2010
Foraker

Hey, what’s that bike stand in the last photo?

22 10 2010
thelazyrando

@Foraker – check out my next post…=-)

22 10 2010
BikeBike

Hey Vik

In case anyone in YYC is interested, we have those brackets too.

Cheers!

22 10 2010
Kent Peterson

BTW, the PDW Radbot comes with one of these brackets as well as the seatpost mount. So if you have a buddy with a Radbot mounted to the seatpost…

22 10 2010
jdmitch

Vik,

Yeah, I thought I remembered you mentioning using something like the OMM… I wish I had a pic… I found one online once. Just go to your local hardware store and get some holed / punched aluminum strapping (long flexible aluminum strip with holes all the way down), and a couple bolts and nuts and fab bend the strap around the stays resulting in a a holed bar or strip across the the back braces… Or, a little cleaner would be p clamps on either end and aluminum or steel strap between…

Not as nice as integral mount, but wouldn’t require drilling either…

Or, if it’s a cold springs or sherpa maybe l-brackets…

http://www.mcmaster.com/#perforated-steel-straps/=9e6j9q

24 10 2010
thelazyrando

@Kent – thanks for that tip…turns out I had two of those brackets and didn’t realize…doh! I have some spares now…=-)

25 10 2010
Ty Smith

Would either of these combos work on the standard rear rack on a Tikit?

25 10 2010
thelazyrando

@Ty – no there is nothing to bolt to on the rear of a Tikit rack. You could come up with something, but there is no bolt on solution. Although there is so much seat mast available on a Tikit to mount a light to you could easily mount a couple there using standard seatpost mounts rather than attaching a light to the rear rack.

25 10 2010
john

heh, thx for the shoutout. the pleasantly odd thing about the mount is that it is actually cheaper at MEC ($2) than PB website($5) so i’m guessing good old MEC is selling it at a loss!

nice stationary stand btw. :)

25 10 2010
john

oh wait, PB throws in a ping pong ball as part of the deal too:

http://ecom1.planetbike.com/3108.html :P

25 10 2010
Brian

OMM could really stand to take some design suggestions from users. I know there a lot of users out there who swear by them, but when I was shopping for racks, I decided against the OMM’s because there were a lot of little luxuries that seem like they should be standard to me, but were absent on the OMM racks.

25 10 2010
thelazyrando

@Brian – OMM could improve a few things, but after trying all the major options it’s the only rack I’m using on my bikes. I can DIY a rear rack light mount easy enough on an OMM rack if I wasn’t extremely lazy. I’ve got a Tubus Cargo rear rack that accepts a rear light gathering dust in my parts bin and I bought an OMM rack to replace it.

Leave a Reply

