Ortlieb Uber Alles!

19 10 2010

 

Ortlieb how I love you...

 

My friend Tanya has been getting serious about using her bike for transportation over the last 12 months.  She no longer has a car and her bike is her goto way to get around.  Naturally she has been working on how to carry cargo.  She started with a backpack and has gone through several sets of panniers.  I held my tongue as she bought and returned one fairly crap pannier after another.  I did provide specific feedback about panniers when asked  and of course I’ve been using my Ortliebs around her the whole time.  Last night as she was stuffing her birthday present into her latest set of panniers she looked over at my Ortliebs and told me she was returning her current panniers so she could buy some Ortliebs.  A year ago the price tag of the Ortliebs would have seemed crazy to her, but now that she has tried the rest she understands why Ortlebs reign supreme and are worth every penny.

I was so proud…=-)


Actions

Information

8 responses

19 10 2010
Gareth

Got to agree, Ortlieb may seem expensive but when you see a touring partner pull wet clothes from their cheaper panniers you know you have made a good choice

20 10 2010
John

hi,

which ortliebs do u recommend for the a medium size tikit? i want to ditch my backpack and use a single bag for my rear rack (the stock rack). does ortlieb sell the bags as singles?

thanks!
john

20 10 2010
Gareth

Ortlieb Front Rollers fit well on the Tikit rear rack – the Back Rollers are too big for the standard rack, but there is now a collapsable larger rack which Vik has been testing.

You can see my set-up here Have done a four day tour with this arrangement – worked fine.

20 10 2010
john

hi gareth,

thanks for the response. in your opinion would the sport packer work?

nice disc-brake setup btw!

thanks!
john

21 10 2010
Gareth

Thanks John

The Sport Packer might work, it is slightly larger than the Front Roller, but the critical factor is shoe size. With my UK size 11 I am not getting a great deal of heel clearance with the Front Roller. Best to try it out in the LBS.

Another thing you might consider is that in the UK at least ORtlieb sell a bag called the Front Roller City as a single bag.

Gareth

21 10 2010
thelazyrando

Thanks Gareth – I haven’t tried any Ortliebs with the stock rack….good info.

21 10 2010
thelazyrando

Thanks Gareth – I haven’t tried any Ortliebs with the stock rack….good info.

21 10 2010
John

hey gareth,

thanks for the feedback. i looked at the specs and the SP has the same footprint as the FR but only taller so i might be ok. i’m a few sizes smaller in shoe size so i think heel clearance won’t be an issue.

cheers!
ohn

Leave a Reply

