Thorn Sold – CETMA Ordered…

4 06 2010

What me worried?

I was sad to strip my Thorn Nomad and pack it for shipment to its new owner, but on the plus side I placed an order for a CETMA cargo bike frame…=-)  I’m hoping to get her by early August and will be building up the following specification:

  • CETMA cargo bike frame [white] with kickstand
  • custom wooden box with waterproof cover
  • Rohloff w/ 26″ Velocity Aeroheat rim *
  • Chain tensioner
  • 20″ Velocity Aeroheat front wheel
  • Schwalbe Big Apple Tires 2.0″ width
  • Deore V-brakes with Koolstop salmon pads *
  • Avid Speed Dial levers *
  • Titec H-bars *
  • Ergon Grips *
  • Brooks B17 saddle [black] *
  • Shimano square taper cranks with Thorn 38T ring *
  • Shimano square taper BB
  • SRAM 8 spd chain *
  • Planet Bike Fenders

Note: * indicates parts coming from Thorn Nomad.

As you can see most of the parts comes from my Thorn Nomad. So although it has been sold it will live on in spirit hauling stuff around town for me.  Even cooler the CETMA frame splits in two for travel/shipping/storage like the Thorn did.  The rest of the parts come from my spares bin so all I’ll need to buy is a chain tensioner and a 20″ Big Apple then I’ll be ready to complete the CETMA build.

Now I just have to be patient until August….=-)


Actions

Information

28 responses

4 06 2010
Gerco

Looks like a great set-up…

The only thing i would change is maybe the saddle.. Because of the more upright riding position.. It might be more comfortable with a wider, heavy sprung saddle..

Just a thought..

4 06 2010
Doug D

Now all you need is your own cute toddler in a pink helmet…
Of course you are always welcome to borrow mine.
@Gerco, I rode mine with a B17 and it was fine. I switched to the Champion flyer because I had a spare one from one of my other bikes.

4 06 2010
vik

@ Gerco – the CETMA position should be very similar to the position I ride my Pugsely, Big Dummy and 1×1 – which is quite upright. I’ve got a variety of saddles on those bikes…Champion Flyer, Selle Anatomica and SDG…the B17 should work just fine.
@ Doug – how wide a BA can I fit in the fork?…bigger than 2″? Will I need some funky fender for the front?

4 06 2010
Jeremy

Sweet man! That’s gonna a way cool ride!

Can’t wait to see your posts about it!

4 06 2010
Dr Jim

HI VIC,

I am not sad you sold the thorn frame to me. HA! I talked to Thorn today, they said they wouldn’t have sold the same size to me but that we will probably be able to get it to fit just fine………Happy Trails

Jim

4 06 2010
vik

@ Jim – Thorn always sized me onto smaller frames than I liked. I went with their recommendation on my first Thorn and then for the next two bought larger frames.

BTW – found S&S/EBB tool and will get it off to you shortly.

4 06 2010
Bryan

Rad! Can’t wait to see it built up and hear your thoughts on it.

I’ve got a pair of 20″ Big Apples I took off my Speed TR if you’re interested. Not sure how many miles are on them but it’s not a ton and they’re in great condition. I replaced them with Marathon Supremes.

4 06 2010
thelazyrando

@ Bryan – ya I’ll take ‘em …just let me know how much…could you ship them to a friend of mine in Pasadena?…I’ll pay costs and provide addy?

4 06 2010
Zyzzyx

Cargo bike addict!

Hey… its a good thing. Really. ;)

I’ve been pondering getting a different frame for my Xtracycle, move the RANS CF back to stock form. I love the Xtra, but with the RANS it just feels… slow.

4 06 2010
thelazyrando

@Ian – how about a Surly Instigator frame?..I’ve seen several Xtracycles using that front end and folks like ‘em a lot…very burly and more aggressive riding position than your CF.

4 06 2010
thelazyrando

@Ian – I don’t think 2 of anything makes you an addict! Maybe if I had 4 or 5 cargo bikes I would qualify!

4 06 2010
Dr Jim

Thanks for the vote of confidence. The cargo bike world is a whole new deal for me. I had looked into the big dummy but there are two 14 degree grade hills between me and work and the grocery store, so I stuck with the RMB sherpa 30. Again, happy trails……………jo

4 06 2010
Doug D

@Vik there is lots of room in the fork, probably enough for a 2.7 if there was one. I have Rhino lite rims with a 406 X 60 Big Apple. I got Sean at bikebike to get me some metal fenders which fit reasonably well for $15. The wire fender stay did not clear my tire though so I didn’t use it. I had to put a lower profile bolt on the steering limit bumper to clear the fender. On the back I had a 2.35 as well and then I switched to a 2.0 because the super moto I had did not have puncture protection. I will probably stick with the Marathon Supreme 2 inch since it is so smooth rolling and tough.

4 06 2010
Hriday

Random question. How did you make space for the bakfiet in your Calgary apartment?

4 06 2010
thelazyrando

I actually moved out of my apartment at the end of April. I haven’t settled into a new place yet [been staying at my GF's], but by the time the CETMA shows up I’ll have a garage!

4 06 2010
Zyzzyx

As mentioned by DougD, the Super Moto tire is nice and fat, but lacks good puncture protection. However, if that doesn’t bother you, I’ve got a new one I can sell to ya. Bought it for the rear on the Quest, actually too fat to fit. (I think its a 60 or 65 width).

And a more likely swap for the RANS will be an old-school steel mtb frame. Gonna start watching Craigslist, see what I can pick up cheap. Can swap over components from the RANS if need be.

4 06 2010
Chandra

Congrats, Vik!
I will look for pics and such when the bike is built!
Peace :)

5 06 2010
Vik

@Ian – thanks for the tire offer…I’ve got 2 nearly new 26 x 2.0 BA to use up so my back end of the CETMA is covered for a couple years. I just need some fat 406 rubber for the front.

@Chandra – thanks! Enjoy your new bike as well…=-)

6 06 2010
Al

Hi Vik, I actually got the cargo bike itch as well some time ago but it went away. Now you got me thinking again. I read your post 2 years ago in my blog and it seems your hauling needs have changed. Fatherhood calls? :)

6 06 2010
thelazyrando

I’ll be keeping the Big Dummy…the CETMA is a bonus. Not much chance of me ever having kids…that won’t be what I’m going to haul in the CETMA.

8 11 2011
Erik Andersen

Do you want to sell it?
Thanks,
Erik of Everett, Washington

8 11 2011
thelazyrando

@Erik – did I sell the Thorn?.,..yes a last year and I changed the title of the post to “sold”.

8 11 2011
Erik Andersen

I mean, do you want to sell the CETMA?

8 11 2011
thelazyrando

@Erik – I sold the CETMA a couple months ago.

8 11 2011
Erik Andersen

Do you know of any other used (CETMA or Bakfiets) for sale in Vancouver?

8 11 2011
thelazyrando

@Erik – sorry I don’t. They are fairly rare bikes.

8 11 2011
Erik Andersen

OK, will you please let me know if you hear of one? I have 6 month old twins and I can’t wait to take them out riding!

8 11 2011
thelazyrando

@Erik – will do. I would have been happy to sell you my CETMA and avoid the shipping hassles I went through.

Leave a Reply

