Carbon Santa Cruz Nomad

27 03 2010

Carbon Nomad Flyer

I’m still not sold on carbon mountain bikes, but I gotta admit this looks pretty sweet….=-)  By the time I wear out the fork/shock/drivetrain on my aluminum Nomad MK2 the jury should be in on how durable these frames are in the real world.  Santa Cruz is going heavily carbon with almost all their bikes now offered in this material other than their uber long travel DH rigs and the [relatively] economical Heckler.  Given their small volume sales and high cost Santa Cruz can’t afford to get a bad rap about frame quality so you have to assume they’ve beat the hell out of these new carbon frames and they stood up just fine.

Time will tell!

PS – who do I have to sleep with to get one of these carbon Nomads to test???…=-)


Actions

Information

4 responses

28 03 2010
larry

hi Vic
I in Calgary for the day, on my way to Cornells to buy his Easy Racer goldrush. Around noonish I need to be in Cochrane. It’s 9:45, I am at Mec for a bit then heading over to Bow cycle around 11 am. would you be available for a quik coffee?if you get this in tiime email me or text me
Larry in Leduc

28 03 2010
thelazyrando

Just got this Larry. I’ll be at Bow around 11am as well. I’ll look for you.

28 03 2010
bikeboy999

Hey Vik,

http://www.bustedcarbon.com/ I lust after carbon and then I go to this webpage and am thankful that I have no cf. :-)

B

29 03 2010
thelazyrando

That site doesn’t really provide me any real de-motivation for riding a carbon bike. I could collect a gallery of all the busted aluminum bike frames and components. It would be huge and I’m not sure what if anything it would tell you? Stuff breaks – no matter what material.

I have been closely watching the Santa Cruz MTB forum on MTBR.com for tales of broken frames. So far I haven’t seen much. Certainly CF MTB frames are breaking just as the aluminum ones did and the steel ones did. The question is are they breaking a lot more often or in ways that injure the rider? So far I haven’t found any rampant CF frame breakages amongst SC riders. I’m not in the market for a new MTB for a couple years so I’ll keep checking in on this.

Leave a Reply

