The depths of my laziness…

27 10 2009
theram

Photo: Robert Thompson @ Flickr

…knows no bounds!  I’ve been sleeping on limp thermarests for at least the past 3 years.  I go to sleep on a full mattress and wake up on a deflated pad.  I cannot explain why it has taken me so long to actually do something about it.  I finally put both my thermarests in my GF’s bathtub and located the leaks.  To be precise each mattress had one leak.  Each leak took about 3 mins to locate and 3 mins to fix. Absolutely pathetic!

On the upside I’ll be sleeping more comfortably for a while…until the next leak…hopefully it won’t take another 3 years next time to fix.


Actions

Information

4 responses

27 10 2009
jamesmallon

And that’s why I use a closed-cell Z-Rest! Had two different thermas deflate on me at 3000m, below zero, on half a dozen occasions. No fun. The only thing inflatable pads are is smaller, and a bit more comfy.

Closed cell pads are nearly indestructible, half the cost, and 2/3 the weight by warmth.

27 10 2009
thelazyrando

I have a z-rest and I’d rather use a hole-y thermarest than bother with the z-rest myself. I know this because I kept using my thermarests and left the z-rest at home. The bulk of the z-rest is a real pain in the butt.

I think the solution is to actually use the small repair kit I carry. A holed thermarest is really a sub-10 minute job if I just set my mind to it.

Now that I think of it I actually have 3 z-rests. I bought one and some other folks gave me theirs as they decided to get thermarests. I think I’ll store the z-rests + an old sleeping bag in my truck so I can have a snooze without having to have been smart enough to actually pack some sleeping gear.

27 10 2009
The Impossipede

Laziness lays the most seductive traps. I’m using one of the Big Agnes inflatable pads now, primarily because I heard they were excellent for side-sleepers & they weigh next to nothing, but also because I figure that if/when mine springs a leak, I’ll be forced to fix it then and there.

27 10 2009
Bryan

Exped makes a downmat which is wonderful for sleeping in the winter. Think 3″ thick air mattress with the tubes filled full of down. The R value of that mat is more than twice that of a normal 0.75″ Thermarest.

For non-cold weather camping, several companies make a normal air mattress. Weighs slightly more than an ultra-light Thermarest but the quality of sleep is much higher (and I’ll trade good sleep over a half pound any day).

Leave a Reply

