Surly Larry Fat Rubber?

22 09 2009
Photo: MTBtires.com

Photo: MTBtires.com

This photo over at MTBR.com and this thread are suggesting this is a new 26 x 3.7″ front tire from Surly called the Larry.  I really like the Surly Endomorphs on my Pugsley, but they do have a bad habit of washing out sideways in soft wet snow or soft sand.  If this tire is confirmed it will hopefully track straighter on the front of my Pugsley due to the long pointy knobs.

Cross your fingers!


Actions

Information

10 responses

22 09 2009
Gerco

Hey,

Is this tyre developed in cooperation with Schwalbe or something… Since they gave it the name Larry.. Schwalbe uses all these kinda names, Nick, Ralph, etc..

22 09 2009
thelazyrando

I don’t even know if this is 100% for real yet…hopefully will confirm or deny shortly.

22 09 2009
Gerco

By the way, how are your Endomorphs holding up. Are they wearing down a lot?? Don’t know the mileage u have on them by now…

22 09 2009
thelazyrando

No my Endos look great…I don’t ride them on pavement too much which I think helps. I’ll get at least another year out of them and I’ve used this bike a lot!

If the Larry is for real I’ll get one and then I’ll have two partly used Endos for the back, plus Kurt and I have a brand new spare Endo we take on trips in case we destroy a tire.

So I’ve got Pugsley tires for a few years!

24 09 2009
ToddBS

Saw this on Surly Blog today.

http://www.surlybikes.com/2009/09/interwhuh.html

Looks like the Larry might be official.

24 09 2009
Vik

Sweet! Kurt and I will be trying a Larry on the front of our Pugs. I like the Endo on the back end.

30 09 2009
alan

hey Vik, why do you like the endo on the back?
i am getting indecisive about tire options! i read somewhere that the endos are getting upgraded with stronger sidewalls too.

30 09 2009
Vik

The Endo has excellent grip on the back and has never slide out on me like the front the Larry looks good for directional stability so it makes sense on front. A paddle tire on the back and a steering tire on the front is a pretty common MTB combo.

I’m sure people will try Larrys front+back and report.

I haven’t had any issues with my Endo sidewalls.

I’ll add a Larry on front and keep my Endos for the back. The back should wear faster so having more Endos will work out fine.

30 09 2009
toddbs

The demo Pug at Interbike was set up with an Endo rear and Larry front.

28 02 2010

Leave a Reply

