Fatter than Large Marge?

2 09 2009
Graceful Fat Sheba - Offset Drilled Rims

Graceful Fat Sheba - Offset Drilled Rims

I just came across these 80mm wide [compared to 60mm Surly Large Marge rims] Graceful Fat Sheba rims from Vicious Cycles.  They come in offset drilled [for Pugsley] and centre drilled versions.

Specs:

  • Offset drilling [for Pusgely] or centre drilled
  • single wall construction
  • 80mm width
  • disc only
  • presta valve
  • weight – 1310 gm
  • 32 hole
  • ERD – 539
  • $99USD

Very cool!  Since I’m running disc brakes on my Pugsley I doubt I’ll be needing new rims anytime soon, but for someone building up a Pug from scratch who wants even more float than a Large Marge these rims could be just the ticket.


Actions

Information

4 responses

2 09 2009
jdmitch

You know, Speedway Cycles (makers of the Fatback Titanium “Pugsley”) do 80 & 100mm rims, right?

http://www.speedwaycyclesak.com/pages/fatback.html

2 09 2009
Zyzzyx

“Since I’m running disc brakes on my Pugsley I doubt I’ll be needing new rims anytime soon”

Aw, c’mon… ‘need’ has nothing to do with it.

Oh wait, that’s right. The truck purchase is in the way though. ;)

Still, for a guy whose mt biking background is SoCal singletrack, I have a hard time picturing a rim that size. And I thought the 30mm rear rim on my trials bike was big. Guess not.

10 09 2009
Vik

Thanks for the tip on the Speedway Cycles 80mm & 100mm rims…I can’t keep all this fat tire detail straight in my head….lol…=-)

15 09 2009
jdmitch

Hah, yeah, no problems. I’ve got a file with Fat Bike dream stuff in it. Not that I have any real needs for a Fat Bike, but I really want one. Since it’s a pure want, I’m debating getting a Ti (Speed Way or Jeff Jones) one rather than a Surly, because, well, it’ll be built up custom anyway and since this is about wants rather than needs Ti is more wantable than steel (though again, not needed). Then again with two kids (and possibly a third on the way), needs will probably trump wants and Fat Bike may be a good few years away.

Leave a Reply

