CDN GDR

11 06 2009
The Canadian Great Divide MTB Route Map

The Canadian Great Divide MTB Route Map

I was keen on riding the Canadian section of the GDR last year, but a nerve injury on the Dempster Highway put a damper on those plans.  Kurt & I have been looking at our travel plans for July and trying to come up with something that meets our needs for adventure, travel and fits our budget.  We’ve decided to skip Europe this year and focus on trips closer to home.  One of the trips we’d like to do is to ride the CDN GDR route on our Pugsleys.

We'll be heading north from Montana to Banff.

We'll be heading north from Montana to Banff.

My Pugsley is pretty much ready to rock. We’ll be adding some OMM racks to Kurt’s Pugsley.  Other than that we’ll ride them as is. I’m working on a gear list for the trip.  We’ll be camping and cooking most of our meals. I’ll try to keep things on the light side.

Our tentative departure date is the last weekend in June with a window of 4-5 days to ride the 355km route.


Actions

Information

6 responses

15 06 2009
Cass

hi vic, sounds great!
My Alaskan plans were slightly delayed due to visa issues, but the flight s now booked for the 4th July. I’ll be heading up to Prudoe Bay, then back down via the Kenai Peninsula and onto Whitehorse – I’ve heard there’s some great mtb’ing there.

A question for you: any idea of a timeline between Whitehorse and Banff, riding quiet roads or dirt tracks where possible, doing decent distances but keeping things mellow? Any thoughts on a good route?

thanks!

15 06 2009
Cass

hi vic, sounds great!

My Alaskan plans were slightly delayed due to visa issues, but the flight s now booked for the 4th July. I’ll be heading up to Prudoe Bay, then back down via the Kenai Peninsula and onto Whitehorse – I’ve heard there’s some great mtb’ing there.

A question for you: any idea of a timeline between Whitehorse and Banff, riding quiet roads or dirt tracks where possible, doing decent distances but keeping things mellow? Any thoughts on a good route?

thanks!

16 06 2009
vik

Hey Cass,

Sorry Canada is a huge country and I don’t know the roads very well up north. It’s a long way ~3000kms+ by the most direct highway from Whitehorse to Banff so if you are taking dirt roads at a leisurely pace plan on taking a long time to ride down.

Your best bet is to get some detailed 1:50,000 scale topo maps and a GPS. That way you’ll know exactly where you want to go and where you are.

I live 1hr from Banff so when you are getting close drop me a line – I’ll buy you a celebratory beer!

ride safe,

Vik

16 06 2009
Cass

3000kms? Whoah! I better start my planning! Maybe it will have to be a more direct route… Will definitely drop you a line when I’m getting close.
Cass

16 06 2009
vik

Ya the normal map projection of earth makes the north parts look much smaller than they actually are. This is okay since 99% of the world’s population lives in the middle bit, but a shock when you plan a trip up north. Had the same experience when I realized it would take 40hrs @ 100kph in my truck to drive to the Yukon by the most direct route.

I did a check on google maps and Prudehoe Bay to Banff is a hair over 4000kms by direct highway. As a rough average I’d say that would take 40 days to ride for me.

16 06 2009
vik

BTW – my friend Dustin lives in Whitehorse and is a MTBer so if you were looking for trails to ride in that area you could drop him a line:

http://senorcoco.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

