Tikit Withdrawal

30 04 2009
I want my Tikit back!

I want my Tikit back!

I took my Tikit to a house party two weeks ago in the back of a friend’s car.  The idea was I would leave early and ride my bike home so I could get a good night’s sleep and be fresh for a 100km road ride on the following day. Not surprisingly after a few too many beers I didn’t go home early and in fact missed my friend leaving.  Thus started a long forced separation from my Tikit.  I’ve tried to get it back a few times, but have been foiled at every turn by both our busy schedules.

I have a lot of bikes so the temporary loss of one shouldn’t be an issue right?  Wrong.  I can’t even count the number of times I started to fetch my Tikit only to remember it was across town.   *sigh*  I could ride another bike, but locking it up in many places downtown is not an ideal option.  Especially since all my other bikes are really nice.  For the most part I’ve ended up walking instead.  That’s fine, but it takes a lot longer meaning I get less done or I’ve just skipped running an errand until my Tikit returns to me.

Kurt has the Seasons Tikit which I have borrowed a couple times, but it fits him better and he uses it as much as I use my Tikit – ie. all the time – so it’s rarely available.

They say you don’t truly appreciate something until it’s gone and they also say absence makes the heart grow fonder.  I can confirm “they” are right on both accounts!

I should get my beloved Tikit back this Saturday.  I think my last phone message sounded sufficiently desperate that my friend realizes I’m in crisis mode and gotta get this situation resolved ASAP!  Only two more sleeps – I can make it!

On a positive note my go to bike has been my Bike Friday New World Tourist.  I’ve had loads of fun riding it, but it’s too nice and too loaded up with goodies to want to lock it up outside for more than a minute or two.


Actions

Information

4 responses

30 04 2009
Doug

“They say you don’t truly appreciate something until it’s gone and they also say absence makes the heart grow fonder. I can confirm “they” are right on both accounts!”

I’m pretty sure “they” weren’t talking about bicycles. But I do understand your pain Vik.

30 04 2009
Chris

I think a weekend folding coffee ride is in order.

1 05 2009
KenF

Vik,

Can’t you fold the NWT and take it in with you? I know it’s more of a pain than the Tikit, but this might be better than locking the poor thing up outside.

Ken

1 05 2009
thelazyrando

Ken – the NWT can fold – in theory, but it’s not much fun to do so I end up walking or just not running the errand in question. If push came to shove I could make that happen, but living downtown I rarely have to bike. It’s just faster and more fun.

Chris – this weekend won’t work for me, but I’m up for it in general…just have too much booked already!

Leave a Reply

