Urban Assault NWT

28 04 2009
NWT getting down and dirty in the Big Smoke!

NWT getting down and dirty in the Big Smoke!

My NWT is a touring bike, but I only tour once in a while and have a few touring bikes to choose from so it has to serve multiple purposes.  I didn’t really have a clear vision of what the NWT would be when not on tour, but it has naturally become my choice for all urban assault missions that don’t require folding.  Of course if it has to fold my Tikit is the obvious choice.

What makes a good urban assualt bike?

  • quick & nimble
  • reliable = IGH
  • tough
  • all weather = fenders
  • comfortable
  • can carry stuff easily
  • lights
  • fun to ride
  • easy to store transport if needed

My NWT meets all of the criteria above without breaking a sweat.  The 20″ wheels make darting around obstacles easy & fun while at the same time being strong so crashing through potholes isn’t an issue.  Since the NWT is built for touring it’s tough and reliable.  With a Shimano Nexus 8 IGH it’s also low maintenance.  With a dyno headlight, 2 LED tail lights and fenders it’s ready to ride day or night – rain or shine.  Front and rear racks mean I can carry a week’s worth of groceries or a month’s worth of recycling easily.  Bike Friday dialed the fit for me so well I find I’m grabbing the NWT a lot just because it feels so good to ride.  I love the drop bars, Brooks saddle, BMX pedals and Greenspeed Scorcher tires.  They all work together to make hopping on the NWT a pleasure.  As a bonus if I need to throw the NWT in a car trunk or hop on transit I can fold it in a minute or two.

I’ve been feeling extremely lazy when it comes to bike related projects lately so the full coverage fenders are still sitting in the corner waiting for some time to put them on.  The Bike Friday travel fenders work well enough it’s not a huge issue – although I am looking forward to the functionality and aesthetics of the SKS 20″ fenders I have ready to install.  I also think I’ll add an AirZound horn to help get my road rage on when motorists don’t drive like normal human beings!…=-)


Actions

Information

10 responses

28 04 2009
Rob Sayers

I really like those, I’m planning on getting on before too long to replace my Giant Sedona as a commuter/touring bike

28 04 2009
Jeremy

AirZound horn for sure! They rock! If I rode in urban enviroments, I would always keep one mounted, and always pumped up to the max! Peace.

28 04 2009
Jeremy

Having thought about it, what you really need is a fixie. Hands down the best urban assault bikes out there. but AirZound horns don’t go on fixies. Come on, you know you want one!

28 04 2009
Vik

LOL…I can’t really see how a fixie trumps a an IGH bike especially when I own the IGH bike and don’t own a fixie!….=-)

29 04 2009
Jeremy

Ride one and you’ll know. What I’m getting at is that you NEED a fixie. I mean come on Vik. You’ve given the bents a shot, folders, mtbs rigid and FS, cargos, roadies, fatties, all bikes that you’ve learned the merits of. But no fixies???? You can borrow mine for a shake if you want. There’s a reason why so many couriers ride the fix, because they are ideal for urban riding. you know you want too…… :-)

29 04 2009
thelazyrando

Oh ya…for sure…if I had a garage I’d have like 10 more bikes and probably a fixie, but my test ride of one didn’t scream take me home….lol…I know not a fair amount of riding to assess the merits of a fixie.

I actually think an Endomorph unicycle would be ideal for downtown, but I’m 40 now and not sure I’d survive the learning process…lol…a little like how I feel about the fixie I guess!

Who knows what the future holds…maybe a fixie?

28 05 2009
Perry L

How important is Tikit style folding if you use a Friday only as an travel bike?

For example, I go to Vitcoria for a week and need to fold up the bike when I travel. The week I am out there the bike is setup. Is a normal Friday good enough?

It will probably live in its special suitacse between trips as I have a burly commuter already.

28 05 2009
thelazyrando

Perry for your needs a Bike Friday travel bike like a NWT is a much better option than a Tikit. The NWT is stiffer and rides more like a full size bike. When I don’t need a fast fold I always choose my NWT over my Tikit.

28 05 2009
Perry L

Thanks! I am also going to have a look at the Dahon’s. One of my fave LBS’s carries them and I like instant gratification when it comes to buying bikes.

28 05 2009
thelazyrando

I have a Dahon D7 and have tried out a few of their higher end models. If they fit you they aren’t bad bikes, but since they are one size fits some that is a big question you need to resolve. Bike Fridays come in a variety of sizes and are much nicer over all, but as you point out you can buy a Dahon faster than getting a Bike Friday travel bike.

Leave a Reply

