Big Dummy’s First 2009 Ride

20 04 2009
The Big Dummy is up for the job...

The Big Dummy is up for the job...

After sitting idle all winter in the corner of my apartment I decided it was time to unleash the Big Dummy for its first ride of 2009.  I needed to drop off a Dahon Mu P8 test bike at Bow Cycle so Kurt rode the Dahon and I trucked along on the Big Dummy.

more fun than should be legal...=-)

more fun than should be legal...=-)

The right pedal fell off before I had managed 10′ on the Big Dummy – apparently I hadn’t gotten around to finishing the job of installing it sometime over the winter!  With that small incident taken care of we rolled the 15kms to Bow Cycle enjoying a lovely spring day in Calgary.

Rebecca on the move...

Rebecca on the move...

On the way back from Bow Cycle I towed Kurt on his longboard for 15kms.  Strangely enough this is an ideal arrangement for both of us…he gets to ride for a really long time with no pushing and I get a better workout…=-)

Anglea goes hands free...

Angela goes hands free...

We stopped at Eau Caire for a drink and to people watch.  When we ran into Rebecca and Angela of course they had to try out the Dummy.

Towing Rebecca...

Towing Rebecca...

I’m looking forward to lots of good times on this bike….=-)


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 04 2009
reuben

I’m in the process of building up a rohloff’d big dummy for the spring (got one of the custom colour frames during the recent xtracycle promo). my spec list was highly influenced by the experiences you have blogged about. thanks vic!

20 04 2009
reuben

….and i misspelled your name! sorry dude!

Leave a Reply

