Rohloff Shifter + Titec H-bar + Ortlieb Bar Bag

17 04 2009
A creative cockpit solution...

A creative cockpit solution...

I like Titec H-bars, but two problems I’ve encountered are:

  1. how to mount a handlebar bag and get easy access?
  2. the Rohloff shifter doesn’t fit on the bar very well.

I’ve been trying come up with a solution for a while and finally put something together that looks like it may work.  Basically I’m using two Thorn Accessory Bars – one to move the Ortlieb bar bag out far enough to clear the front of the H-bar and the other to mount the Rohloff shifter.  I haven’t tried this setup out yet as I am waiting to get my lazy butt down to Bow Cycle and pick up some MTB brake levers.  I was going to use Ergon grips on this H-bar like on my Big Dummy, but instead I’ll try Jeff Jones’ suggestion and use a double wrap of cork bar tape all over the bar.  The benefit to using bar tape is that there is no single position to place you hands so you use the entire H-bar without being locked into one or two positions.  It’s a cheap experiment so I’ll give it a go.

Top View

Top View

By angling the accessory bar the Rohloff shifter is mounted on I was able to get lots of clearance between the H-bar and the accessory bar the Ortlieb bar bag is attached to.  As a bonus the angled shifter falls into my hand very easily – better than the previous perpendicular setup. I’m using the shifter on the left as another experiment.  I use my right hand lots to grab water bottles, eat and take pictures, but my left hand stays on the bars much more which is one of the reasons I suffered a nerve injury in the left hand last summer.  The idea is to give my left hand the job of shifting to get it off the bars regularly.

Side View

Side View

This configuration required that the Ortlieb bar bag be mounted to a long-ish accessory bar.  Having the bag levered out this far may cause some handling issues.  OTOH the H-bar is very wide giving me a lot of leverage so that extra control may counter act the bag’s position – hard to say at this point. I’ll just have to give it a try and see what I think.

Top-Side View

Top-Side View


Actions

Information

10 responses

17 04 2009
Rob Sayers

I really like those bars. I’m using the nashbar trekking bars right now but always looking for something different. I might have to give the h-bars a try.

I’ve also got mine completely wrapped in cork, much better than using grips. On long rides i end up using almost the entire bar at some point or another

17 04 2009
Riotgeer

I’ve just installed Ergons on my H-bars. When I was at the NAHBS, it was kind of an epiphany when I saw the way ergo grips were supposed to act as motion control for the wrists- it’s only my first day with the grips, so I’m still dialing them in. Even with the previous cheapo ergo grips I found great improvement with my wrist position after making adjustments based on the Ergon info.

I like the H-bars, but shortly after I bought them, I realized that I would have been happier with On-one Mary bars since I don’t use the multiple hand positions offered by the H-bars, and the “H” isn’t compatible with the stock break/shift combo that came stock on my low-end Raleigh.

For my light set-up, I used a technique mentioned on Bike Forums to use a second stem with chopped bars as a light mount- it sits them lower, and they’re relatively easy to access while riding. Heavier- yes- but I don’t notice it too much with the Surly fork that feels like it weighs as much as the aluminum frame.

Riotgeer

14 06 2009
Hippyfoot

How do you like the H bars? I think I am going to make the plunge here soon. I was also curious about what kind of tires you had on that bike?

14 06 2009
thelazyrando

I like the H-bars a lot. I have them on 3 different bikes.

The tires in the photos above show Schwalbe Ice Spiker studded tires. I have Schwalbe Marathon Extreme tires on the bike now.

15 07 2009
ToddBS

Been a bit since this post. What is the update specifically on the bar tape idea? Better than the Ergon grips? Couldn’t you still get the grips and wrap the rest of the bar in tape?

15 07 2009
thelazyrando

Hey Todd…If you look at my Surly Pugsley I have Ergon grips on it and the rest of the bar wrapped in tape – same with my Surly Big Dummy:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/vikapproved/sets/72157610461277546/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/vikapproved/sets/72157604923671546/

I like being able to move my hands around on the whole H-bar with just tape, but I think for all day touring the Ergons are more comfortable.

16 07 2009
ToddBS

Ahh, very nice. I’m planning to switch my LHT over to an H bar setup as I just don’t ever ride in the drops. Just trying to collect ideas on the setup for it. I think I will go with the Ergons and tape rather than just tape.

20 06 2011
Eric

The Thorn accessory bar in the pictures looks to be the 105mm, O° one? Correct?

This is the exact set up I am looking at for my LHT.

Where were (are) you planning on mounting the light?

21 06 2011
thelazyrando

I have both Thorn accessory bars. I don’t recall which one was shown in those photos. I’ve sold that bike and mounted the light on my LHT to my front rack. You can see how in this post:

http://thelazyrando.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/surly-lht-update/

25 07 2013
Gilbert Gaumerd

Following your lead fitting an Ortlieb Ultimate 5 on a Jones H-Bar, I used the Thorn accessory T bar but also added the Ortlieb Ultimate 4 & 5 Mounting Extension Block – OE165.

It gives just enough extra room to open and close the Ultimate without any problems whatsoever.

http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/thorn-accessory-bar-t-shaped-105-mm-extension-0-deg-prod11040/

http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/ortlieb-ultimate-4-and-5-mounting-extension-block-oe165-prod10755/

Leave a Reply

