Rain Legs

14 04 2009
Rain Legs unrolled ready to be put on.

Rain Legs unrolled ready to be put on.

I’ve tried many different waterproof cycling pants with varying levels of success.  The two major problems I’ve experienced are:

1) that any pant that is actually waterproof makes me so sweaty that I might as well have just let my pants/shorts get wet

2) getting rain pants on and off over your cycling shoes is a real pain in the butt. This means you wait too long to put them on hoping the rain won’t last and in the process get your pants/shorts wet.  It also means you leave them on too long when the rain stops or you just leave them on between showers getting hot ‘n sweaty in the process.

I got my Rain Legs in black so I could wear them to formal events.

I got my Rain Legs in black so I could wear them to formal events.

So this year I’m going to try out a pair of Rain Legs.  These waterproof rain chaps go on and off in a few seconds without a lot of hassles which should solve one of my problems.  They don’t seal your legs in, but they do keep the parts of them [thighs and knees] that get the most wet dry while letting your legs breathe.  They also look like they’ll be great for cool mornings and chilly mountain descents – keeping me warmer without adding a lot of bulk to my gear.

The compromise of course is that they are not full pants and my legs are bound to get wet where they are not covered.

Time will tell if the Rain Legs end up being keepers or not.  I’ll report back this summer once they’ve seen some action.

A brief review of Rain Legs by Kent Peterson.

You can buy Rain Legs from Wallingford Bikes.

Rain Legs rolled up...they can be worn around your waist ready for quick deployment or tossed in a pannier.

Rain Legs rolled up...they can be worn around your waist ready for quick deployment or tossed in a pannier.


Actions

Information

8 responses

14 04 2009
Otto

I was just thinking about buying these! I think I will try them in combination with some walking gators.

15 04 2009
mike

Awaiting mine… someday they’ll get here… Looks like a great way to go. Wool tops and bottoms, rainlegs to keep the deluge off.

15 04 2009
Tamia Nelson

I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the Rainlegs, Vik. My husband bought a pair late last summer and rode with them on some long trips in drizzle, mist, and full-fledged rain, with temperatures ranging from the 50s F to upper 30s F. He liked them. — they kept the critical bits of his lower body dry while still allowing ventilation. Had to modify them to avoid having a buckle chafe through his tights. He’s writing a review of them, or so he says!

17 10 2009
Andy

Any update on the Rainlegs, Vik? Current conditions in Seattle make them highly relevant! My Chrome Shins synthetic knickers got totally soaked through twice yesterday.

1 12 2010
Rain Legs « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] Legs a bit less than 2 years now so I thought I would post an update on how they are performing.  You can read my initial review here for all the details.  The Coles Notes version is that they are a set a light waterproof rain chaps that you can easily [...]

12 01 2011
‘Tis the season to buy rain chaps. « No Car Go

[...] If you’re reading these words in the Pacific Northwest or some other place with a wet winter (perhaps Solingen, Germany?!), consider getting a pair. [...]

12 01 2011
avaerewyck

Thanks for the helpful rain chap info! I’ve shared it with my “No Car Go” readers:

http://nocargo.wordpress.com/2010/12/16/tis-the-season-to-buy-rain-chaps/

6 02 2012
machiya

I like them in theory; in practice, they leave something to be desired. (I returned my first pair already.) The straps are all put on backwards. I can live with it, but that shows a lack of practical thought. They are not lined, and the seam sealing is not consistent. My shop inspected both the extremely leaky pair I returned and the pair they were about to replace the first with, and advised me to try to iron the seam tape on more substantially. I did so, fortunately without melting anything. But the tape is in direct contact with my pants, and the friction can’t do it any good.

They do cover the areas they really need to cover, and the wettest areas when mine failed were not around the uncovered edges. It’s hugely helpful to not worry about what kind of shoes I’m wearing. I don’t wear tiny cycling shoes. In the rainy winter, I’m often wearing a variety of boots, and none of my bike rain pants will go over them. I really don’t want to have to take my shoes or boots off in the rain to get rain pants on, and then replace the boots. Not a good way to stay dry and get where I’m going.

Leave a Reply

