Easy come easy go…

13 04 2009

That's what $80 of tire damage looks like!..=-(

That's what $80 of tire damage looks like!..=-(

I was keen to try a Schwalbe Ultremo on my BBC 2-4 cross bike.  For ~250kms it was a nice tire….fast and relatively comfortable to ride.  Unfortunately on my way home from an Easter BBQ last night I must have run over some glass as the sidewall was completely ripped open…=-(  Luckily I had friends with me who could assist with some lighting [we were in the pitch dark in a park] and I had a $10 bill to use as a tire boot.  Although in the photo above you can see the inner tube has ripped through the $10 bill and is trying to explode on me – happily I got home without it doing so.

I can’t fault a racing tire for being cut open by debris.  It was made to go fast and it did that really well.  I’m going to see what else I can get at my LBS that might be a bit more affordable.  I can see that this might happen again and I am not as eager to drop $80 on a tire the second time around – especially since this really isn’t an uber high performance bike.


Actions

Information

15 responses

13 04 2009
Duncan Watson

Ouch, Vik. That looks painfully expensive, quite a large gash as well.

13 04 2009
thelazyrando

Well as sad as it is I could have crashed and had road rash to deal with as well as even more bike damage…!

13 04 2009
Zyzzyx

Reminds me of a mt bike ride years ago when I was in southern Missouri. Had just put on some new Onza tires. A quick parking lot test and they seemed great. About 10 of us were headed out for a 25 mile singletrack loop (Berryman trail, very awesome). At our first stop a few miles in I look down and see the tube sticking about 1/2″ out the side of my front tire. Booted it for the rest of the ride, but it was a total loss after that.

As for Schwalbes, I’ve swapped to Schwalbe Kojaks on the Quest. While they’re not really a ‘racing’ tire, I’m definitely hoping for some good durability. But they are comfortably fast. I’m not running any tire liners this time around either. With the amount of goathead thorns around here I kinda feel like I’m playing with fire.

13 04 2009
jamesmallon

I always run puncture-proofs, and never had a puncture with any of them (knock…), but I still don’t have the guts to leave my puncture kit behind. I figure the amount the heavier tire slows me down is a fraction of the amount of time I’d spend fixing flats. Now, if I had a support car, mechanic and pit-bike, that’d be another matter.

13 04 2009
thelazyrando

James your approach makes sense for casual cycling or utility cycling – I do the same. On a performance bike, where riding fast and keeping pace with others is a priority puncture proof tires don’t make any sense.

You wouldn’t buy a Porsche 911 and then put SUV tires on it for durability. You’d put high performance tires on it and be okay that they wore out fast.

13 04 2009
ksteinhoff

So, did the $80 include the $10 bill you used for a boot?

13 04 2009
thelazyrando

No the $10 bill was on top. Although I should still be able to spend it…tear not withstanding.

13 04 2009
Continental Ultra Race « The Lazy Randonneur

[...] I scored a Continental Ultra Race tire in 23mm x 700c to replace the trashed Ultermo.  It’s about 50% of the cost.  Given that I have fenders, racks and lights on my bike I [...]

13 04 2009
Bow Cycle | Vik’s Picks » Riding the 2-4 Loaded

[...] coming home I sliced open the rear Schwalbe Ultremo on some glass I couldn’t see riding along ……=-(  It’s a bit tragic to kill an $80 tire in less than 300kms, but you can’t [...]

13 04 2009
jamesmallon

Fair enough about preformance, I suppose, though I didn’t notice a difference between the two on my $1500 Lemond. I ride fast, but don’t race, so I don’t give a $#!+ about losing a couple percent of efficiency. Think I’d like to see stats on just how many extra watts I’d need to put out with the heavier tires, because if you get a flat on a long competitive ride, you are well and truly dropped.

13 04 2009
Randobarf

I had two Conti 4000’s rip open their sidewalls like that. There was no evidence the sidewall had hit anything. I strongly suspect that Vectran may be subject to catastrophic failure at the slightest provocation. Lightweight Vectran tires may be better suited to cyclists who weigh less than 100 lbs and don’t ride very fast.

Randobarf

14 04 2009
thelazyrando

James Bicycle Quarterly did some excellent tire performance tests – well worth a read. The difference between a racing tire and a puncture proof tire will be way more than a 2% I’d suspect high into the double digits. Is there even a puncture proof tire in 23mm width?

14 04 2009
thelazyrando

David…I heard the glass I rode over so I know it wasn’t just spontaneous, but I hope I don’t have any further problems. I don’t think the Conti Ultra Race I bought as a replacement is vectran is it?

14 04 2009
Randobarf

The only two widely available Vectran tires I know of are the Schwalbe Ultremo and the Continental GP 4000.

For flat resistant tires I use Continental Ultra Gatorskins. For speed I use Michelin Pro 2 Races and for semi-speed with pretty good durability I use Michelin Krylions. All of these tires have fairly substantial sidewalls and no Vectran. With the Gatorskins I do not even carry a spare tire. WIth the Ultremos and Conti 4000’s you may want to carry TWO spares and have a team car follow you in case there are any sharp specks on the road or in case a fruitfly or a road flea nibbles your sidewall and causes it to rip to shreds.

Randobarf

17 04 2009
Dean Peddle

I run Continental Ultra Gatorskins 700×25 on all of my bikes. Even my $6000 Cannondale. I really don’t understand why anyone uses 23m tires other than racers. I go in some pretty fast group rides with many racers and have no problems. I’ve never noticed a real difference after taking the Hutchinson 700×23 tires off the Cannondale either. I even have a set of Cosmic Carbone Tubular race wheels that I swap once in a while and still not a huge difference. The Gatorskins are suppier and I’ve read that 25mm tire will give you more rolling resistance anyways and I can attest to that!!! Also, I basically never flat and run these tires all season and just change them anyways at the end of the season. They are truely bomb proof.

Leave a Reply

