NWT MK3

31 03 2009
My NWT as it rolls at the moment...

My NWT as it rolls at the moment...

I’ve made a few more changes to my NWT getting it ready for spring and the start of touring season.  It’s a sharp looking bike…=-)

How long will the tape stay white?

How long will the tape stay white?

I removed the Shimano Nexus 8 twistshifter and replaced it with a JTEK bar-end shifter designed for the Nexus8/Alfine IGHs.  It seems like a very well made product and the shifting is precise and positive.  I’ll report more about this shifter in another post.  I messed up the bar tape when I installed the JTEK shifter so I threw caution to the wind and went bling with some white bar tape.  It may not stay white that long, but it looks sweet for the moment!

Greenspeed Scorchers 40mm-406

Greenspeed Scorchers 40mm-406

I love the Greenspeed Scorcher tires on my Tikit so I got a set for the NWT.  I’m hopeful they provide the same fast and comfortable ride in this size.  I picked up the TR version which is supposed to resist flats well.  I haven’t had a single flat on my Tikit which is running TRs so it seems to be working.

Sugino 46T ring

Sugino 46T ring

I’ve been adjusting the gear range on my NWT trying to get it just right so I can tour with only a single ring up front.  A Sugino 46T ring gives me a warranty legal 2:1 ratio with my 23T cog at the back and *fingers crossed* gives me a nice blend of low end and top speed.  Only time will tell and it’s really sloppy out at the moment as spring tries to arrive so the NWT is grounded until roads are dry.

In-line barrel adjuster.

In-line barrel adjuster.

The JTEK shifter has no cable tension adjustment so I added an in-line barrel adjuster near the hub.


Actions

Information

11 responses

31 03 2009
Tamia Nelson

Nice, Vik! Looks great! I have one question — the fenders are set fairly far away from the tires. Do you find that they still provide good protection against the drivetrain and your legs/back getting dirty?

31 03 2009
jamesmallon

Are all these numbers right: 46t chainring, 23t cog, 20″ x 1.5″ tire? Makes some pretty low gear inches with an Alfine: 21″ – 66″. Maybe Sheldon’s gear calculator isn’t working right: http://www.sheldonbrown.com/gears/internal.html

31 03 2009
Gareth

Am interested to see what you think of the JTEK – rather temped myself

31 03 2009
Chris

The bike looks great!

I’m considering a Pocket Companion or Pocket Road Sport to commute to work on the days I get a lift home so I can fold the bike and put it in the trunk (and take it on vacations, etc.).

What’s the longest ride you’ve done on your bike?
What’s the most you’ve carried on the racks?

My commute is 13 mi. each way with about 1000 feet of climbing and I carry a change of clothes, a laptop and a lunch. It’s np on my road bike, but I’m wondering how the NWT/Pocket Companion would handle the longer distance, loads, etc.

Love to hear your experience with the NWT.

Thanks!

31 03 2009
thelazyrando

Tamia – the fenders are not as effective as regular full coverage fenders, but they work reasonably well and attach with a single bolt each – great for traveling. I’ll be swapping in some full coverage fenders whenever I’m in the mood to futz with them.

James – the gear ratio is on the low side because I only have 8 gears and need to get a fully loaded bike over the mountains.

31 03 2009
thelazyrando

Chris – the NWT [and the PC/PRS] would handle your commute with zero issues. They perform like full size bikes so anything you’d do on a road bike you could do on one of these.

I haven’t used my NWT for any long rides since it’s winter, but I’ve done a 50km round trip commute on a Tikit – which is less stiff and lower performance. The NWT would have no trouble.

1 04 2009
Kevin

Hey Vik, can you fold the bike with the chain on? I have a Pocket Crusoe with a Rohloff using their chain tenioner and i noticed that i have to run almost a full length chain in order for the bike to fold.

1 04 2009
thelazyrando

No you need to pop the chain off the ring first to fold the bike.

10 04 2009
Dave

Hi Vik,

Your NWT looks fantastic. Love the JTEK shifter and surley tensioner. Is there anywhere you’ve posted a full list of all components you’ve used? If I were to get a NWT I’d be very interested in copying most of your is spec. Imitation is the greatest form of flattery!

Also, do you know of any online calculator that will give me the gear inch ration for a 46t up front and 23t in the rear? Can’t get Sheldon’s one to work.

Hope spring comes soon and you get a chance to really test the bike out. Will be looking forward to a detailed trip report!

10 04 2009
thelazyrando

Thanks Dave….=-)

If you follow this link you should find what you are looking for:

http://thelazyrando.wordpress.com/tag/nwt/

9 11 2009
Bike Friday NWT 1 Year Review « The Lazy Randonneur

[…] should make special note of the JTek Shimano IGH bar end shifter.  This works very well and has been a great addition to my NWT.  I started with a gripshift […]

Leave a Reply

