Snow Day

30 03 2009
More snow?....no problem!

More snow?....no problem!

We had a big dump of snow Saturday night so of course Sunday we jumped on the Pugsleys to explore the fresh new winter wonderland that is Fishcreek Provincial Park.  It was much warmer out [-4 deg to 0 deg C] than our last Pugsley mission to Fishcreek Park.  Last time we were uber cold.  This time it was sunny and mild with fresh snow and lots of trails to ride.

Kurt plots our route.

Kurt plots our route.

The warmer temps meant heavy sticky snow that offered excellent traction.  The only problem we had was veering too far off the trail an suddenly sinking in 2′ into the deep snow that had not been packed down by foot traffic/skiis all winter.

We ran into some folks that were super curious about our Pugsleys...

We ran into some folks that were super curious about our Pugsleys...

We had a great conversation with some hikers that were also bikers and had been following our tracks from earlier in the day trying to figure out what had made them.  When we doubled back to return to the C-train we ran into them and had a nice chat.  Natirally a test ride enused and many smiles.  Hopefully we’ve converted a couple more folks to the fat tire world.  Resistance is futile!…=-)

Kurt bombs the steep trail....

Kurt bombs the steep trail....

All in in all we had a great day riding our Pugsleys.  I’m really looking forward to riding bikes in shorts and t-shirts, but until that day arrives I’m going to make the best of it everytime we get some fresh snow.  I may even miss winter *GASP!* when I have no snow to ride my Pugsley in this summer.


Actions

Information

4 responses

30 03 2009
Cass

More pug envy!

Vic, could you recommend to me a decent map of BC? I’m heading up to Prudoe Bay in June, from where I’ll be heading south to Banff and the GDR. Dirt tracks preferred!

Cheers,

Cass

30 03 2009
Doug

I always have a great time when I go fat! We have a winter storm warning out for here….6-12″ of new snow expected. Maybe I can still get in a Pugsley ride yet this winter.

30 03 2009
thelazyrando

Hey Cass,

I don’t have a specific set in mind, but you should be able to get 1:50,000 scale topo maps of the whole country. These would give you enough details to find logging roads and such.

These guys should be able to help you out:

http://www.maptown.com/

I’m off to ride in Switzerland from 27 June to 22 July, but if you hit Banff after that keep me in mind. I’ll buy you a beer and if work is slow I may ride the Canadian portion of the GDR with you…=-)

31 03 2009
Cass

Thanks for that. 1:50 000 sounds like lots of potential for fun!
I’ll almost definitely be hitting Banff later than that. Probably not arriving in Alaska until mid June, and planning a relatively convoluted, dirt track route with plenty of stops for day rides. I’m not sure if I could survive riding past all those great trails without stopping and exploring… I need to set up a blog some time, so will pass you on the details when I do.

Leave a Reply

