NWT Gearing Redux

26 03 2009
The search continues...

The search continues...

In aid of my dream to run my NWT with a single chainring and a Nexus 8 IGH I’ve tried using a 23T cog at the back with a 43T ring up front.  The resulting gear range was too low so I tried a 21T cog in the back.  Unfortunately that cog is too small to work with my Surly Singlenatortensioner chain in the push up mode [pictured below with the 23T cog].

Surly Singlenator just works with a 23T cog

Surly Singlenator just works with a 23T cog

So I put the 23T cog back on and I’ve ordered up a 46T front ring which will hopefully get the gear range where I want it. I’m pretty close!

Speaking of gearing I rec’d my JTEK Alfine/Nexus bar end shifter and I have installed it on the NWT.  I’ll post details separately.  It seems to work great, but since my NWT drivetrain is in pieces at the moment I haven’t road tested it yet.


Actions

Information

6 responses

26 03 2009
urbanveloljubljana

What about trying this:
http://www.trickstuff.de/index.php?p=d110de1
and avoid tensioner ?

26 03 2009
mike

Vik –

The Nexus takes a bit to dial in, for sure. We have one on our Bak and I’ve favored the low end – so I think we are running a 23 and 39. Luckily I don’t have to worry about chain tension as we have trackends with tensioners…

I tried to figure out where a sweet spot would be in either 4 or 5, and build from that. Unlike the Rolhoff, the Nexus has a few larger jumps. On the cargo bike it doens’t bother me – but on a touring or cruising bike it certainly would.

-Mike

26 03 2009
thelazyrando

I’ve seen that EBB before online in Europe, but never seen it for sale here in North America. Given I’d need a new crankset and the EBB it’s simpler to just proceed with what I have and grab a new chainring.

I’ll keep my eyes open for an online store selling those EBBs though – thanks.

27 03 2009
thecuriouscyclotouriste

how in the world do you remove the circlip?!!?! I’ve been trying to pry it off of my Nexus red band for ages @_@

27 03 2009
thelazyrando

Ya the circlip is a huge pain in the ass coming off and going on. I use two small precision flat blade screwdrivers to pry it off. There are a couple notches that let you get under the clip.

Going back on I hold down one edge and use the screwdrivers at the notches to get circlip seat…work from one side all the way around. It will take a few [dozen!] attempts….=-(

30 03 2009
Gregor

Check this out, this is something you could be looking for:
http://www.christoph-moder.de/hobbies/fahrrad/tikit-en.php

It’s in german, but there are pics.

You could use regular lenghth trousers then , no 3/4…..:-)

Leave a Reply

