I’ve been busy riding…

17 03 2009
Top of Castle Mtn - Alberta, Canada

Top of Castle Mtn - Alberta, Canada

I’ve been a bad blogger lately.  Busy hanging out with friends and getting a different sort of riding in.  Coming back to mountain biking after a 3yr lay off made me realize I’ve been ignoring a few other sports I used to enjoy a lot – snowboarding and paragliding.  Since it’s still winter in Canada I figured if you can’t beat ‘em join ‘em.  My board needed surprisingly little work after at least 5-6 years of storage.

Gotta love the minimal lift line...=-)

Gotta love the minimal lift line...=-)

I spent the day at Castle Mountain today riding in 1-2′ of fresh powder.  On a day when nobody showed up at the hill.

Check out all those empty chairs...

Check out all those empty chairs...

We never waited for a chair and we literally had whole bowls of fresh snow entirely to ourselves.  This was pretty much the best day of boarding that I can remember in the 10 years I’ve been riding.  Amazing!

Kurt had a great day poaching fresh lines in trees...

Kurt had a great day poaching fresh lines in the trees...

Thanks to the internet snow reports it’s easy to decide when to ride – a flexible job helps.  Weekday snowboarding rules…=-)


Actions

Information

5 responses

17 03 2009
derek

Nice! Cool to see you up to some Moab action too. Heading down there in a month or so. We wait until the snows all gone so we can do the epic porcupine downhill. Amasas also a personal favorite. I think this is the year I get back into downhill racing….

17 03 2009
KenF

And here I thought you did damage to yourself with that tire pump!

18 03 2009
jalexartis

Vik, I’m amazed at all the riding you do. You seem to be living quite the life. I wish I could join you on some of those rides. Luv your reporting and your pictures. Live the LIFE man! –jim

19 03 2009
moose

Hah, nice work :)
As for this Saturday – we will both be at work, getting home around 7pm. Would love to catch up if you’ll still be around by then, but chances are you’ll be all ridden out and back in Cow Town getting cleaned up!

19 03 2009
thelazyrando

Yup…I’ve got a b-day party to attend in Calgary Sat evening…another time…=-)

Leave a Reply

