S&M Trail

5 03 2009
Kurt & Jen enjoying a beautiful desert sunset

Kurt & Jen enjoying a beautiful desert sunset

Kurt and I hooked up with Dave [owner of The Fat Tire bike shop] and his posse of locals for a group ride Tuesday afternoon.  I should have known we were going to be in trouble when everyone was telling us how much fun we were going to have on the ride!  The trail involved climbing up to a ridge and then riding a winding exposed [ie. death on the right] technical trail down.  Since we left a bit late we then descended some nice singletrack in the dark to top things off.

To make matters worse my bike felt totally setup wrong and I couldn’t clean a technical section to save my life.  It was just one of those days.  Luckily Kurt was having an off day as well so at least I didn’t have to suffer on my own.  Oh well these days have to happen.  I just wish they could happen we I’m riding alone – not on a group ride full of kick ass mountain bikers.

The trail itself was quite impressively diabolical – equal parts fun, pain and humiliation so I’m going to call it the S&M Trail.

The best part of the ride was the post-S&M beer session at the Fat Tire.  It was fun to chat with everyone.

BTW – turns out my Nomad was setup wrong and I was fighting the bike the whole ride.  I’ll post about that separately.


Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2009
highwaymunky

Great Photo! looks gorgeous there.

6 03 2009
Dustin

A bad day on the trail is better than a good day of thesis writing.

A new Nomad on southern singletrack and slickrock sound like a perfect solution to a northern winter (pay close attention to my jealousy — there’s a snow storm right now). You guys should take a side trip through Yellowstone on your way back to Calgary — walking through a geyser field is mind blowing.

Leave a Reply

