Helmets for my arms and legs…=-)

18 02 2009

I'm gonna look like Robocop!

I'm gonna look like Robocop!

My buddy Kurt has a lower risk threshold than me and often rides with a full face helmet, arm and leg pads – even in town.  I’m amazed at the amount of gear he straps on to ride a bike.  I don’t know if it’s the fact I’m getting older or that I’m about to embark on what will likely be a pretty intense session of technical mountain biking, but I’ve been feeling under protected lately.

I decided I had better gear up for the rocky desert trails to come.  So I got myself a set of arm and leg pads.  I even tried on a full face helmet, but it felt so restrictive that I put it back.  I figured if I changed my mind they’d be selling ‘em in Moab and Sedona so I can just buy one there.

I’m not sure what it will be like to ride with pads, but I’m prepared to give it a week of feeling odd to give myself time to adapt.  I’ll probably be glad to have them the first time I fly off my bike and land on some sharp rocks.

BTW – for those in Canada MEC has bike armour on clearance at the moment – nice stuff – great price!


Actions

Information

One response

18 02 2009
Bikeboy999

I guess these would have helped me on this venture. I told Juergen that I thought studs would slow me down and be heavy. The 45 minutes walking/crawling after the impact showed me the error of my thoughts.

B

Leave a Reply

