Seasons Tikit 7 Month Update

30 01 2009
...first stop www.mec.ca

...first stop http://www.mec.ca

It’s hard to believe it has been 7 months since the Seasons Tikit arrived from Bike Friday.  You can read my first impressions here.  I’ve really enjoyed the light/precise shifting of the Nexus 8 hub and the bike has literally required zero  maintenance since it arrived.  Most of the last 7 months the Seasons Tikit has been living with various friends since the medium frame fits them better than it fits me. I’m a little sad I don’t get to use it more often, but there is a reason Bike Friday offers the Tikit in 3 sizes – it makes a big difference in how they ride.  On the positive side I have another Tikiteer to ride with and I’m happy to spread the good word about this lovely folding bike.  This process has convinced one of my Seasons Tikit test riders to buy his own Seasons Tikit come spring….=-)  Cool….the more the merrier!

...stop #1 - Campione

...stop #2 - Campione

I figured it was about time to check in on this bike so I convinced Nivea she wanted to give it up for a bit…easier said than done!  I’ve been using it the last few days for my rides around town completing errands and appointments.  The Seasons Tikit doesn’t have any racks or accessories that aren’t stock. Compared to my Tikit it’s a bit lighter and the shorter wheelbase makes it noticeably easier to ride on a crowded sidewalk or  busy parking lot.

...mmm food!

...stop #3 - mmm food!

When I stay away from the Seasons Tikit I don’t have any complaints about my own derailleur geared Tikit, but as soon as I start shifting that Nexus 8 I start schemeing about how I’ll swap rear triangles or I’ll sell my Tikit and buy a large Seasons Tikit of my own – it’s that nice.  However, then the Seasons Tikit goes to live with someone else and I forget how great it shifts so the need to make a change evaporates and I’m totally satisfied with my Tikit.  My Tikit actually shifts quite well so it’s not a defect – it’s just how darn sweet the Nexus 8 is to use.

I had a look over the Seasons Tikit and everything is in good order.  The Hyperfold cable is tensioned well and the chain doesn’t need adjustment yet.  Other than some oil on the chain and some air in the tires [my friends don’t maintain bikes they just ride ‘em] the Seasons Tikit is ready for another 7 months of use.  Good thing too since another week and I’d probably have to upgrade my Tikit to a Nexus 8!


Actions

Information

8 responses

30 01 2009
Gareth

Glad you are liking the Seasons Tikit – here is a sneak preview of what those Bike Friday folk are building for me

30 01 2009
thelazyrando

Very nice…=-) Send me photos when you get that baby home!

30 01 2009
Gareth

One of the big hopes I have for my Seasons Tikit is that the higher chain line will mean less grunge to keep cleaning off

30 01 2009
thelazyrando

Gareth – while that’s true to a degree the more important fact is that since the chain just goes round and round in a straight line you don’t really need a clean chain the way you do on a derailleur bike. The shifting and pedaling does get affected by a dirty chain. A very occasional wipe down and lube will be fine.

My Seasons Tikit is on track to have the chain cleaned twice a year!

31 01 2009
Charles

Gareth… a Rohloff? Sorry, I’ll read the rest of the 7th month update now.

31 01 2009
Charles

I wish winter would end soon so I’d get a chance to ride my Tikit. On Monday I’m expecting a second, which I got used, and also have an i-9 coming. I’ll switch out the hubs and rims with a NWT and end up with a Tikit with a 29 to 98 inch gear range. That’s if I calculated it right and I can put on a 16T sprocket. Can’t find the minimum size sprocket specification for the SRAM listed anywhere.

1 02 2009
Gareth

Charles – it’s a Seasons Tikit with an Alfine hub gear and disc brake. Currently waiting for Bike Friday to resolve the final issue with rear brake hose before shipping it

4 02 2009
Charles

Gareth, I thought that at first but then I thought I saw a blue stripe in the front wheel. Well, looks like I had a set back. I had no idea that the i-9 uses a 4 spline sprocket. None of the three splines one’s are going to fit and I don’t think a 4-spline one smaller than 18T can be had. Throws the gear inches off to where the whole project is pointless.

Leave a Reply

